PBHL5020: Teaching School Health: Health Databases

The ERIC database, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. Included in the database are citation records, abstracts, and (where available) full-text links for journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. [1966 - present]

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the most comprehensive resource for locating published research in nursing and allied health. The full text version includes content from over 600 journals indexed in the database, with many article backfiles extending to 1981. Frequently updated, CINAHL also provides searchers with current awareness of the newest journal articles through a rotating file of "Pre-CINAHL" records containing citation information and links to full-text (where available). [1981 - present]

PsycARTICLES offers complete access to the full text of more than 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience. The database currently contains over 160,000 articles from many of the most important journals in psychology, including 34 journals published by the American Psychological Association. Most titles feature complete content from the current issue back to volume 1, issue 1, with complete coverage of all subject areas relevant to psychological science including basic/experimental psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, education and school psychology, health psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, social psychology and social processes. Articles in PsycARTICLES are also accessible through links in the (larger) PsycINFO database. [1894 - present]

Access full-text articles from the Library's subscription e-journals using the familiar Google search engine.

For access to our subscription journals through Google Scholar, select the link above and then follow these steps:

1. Click on the top-left corner menu on the screen
2. Select "Settings" from the menu
3. On the next page, select "Library links" from the menu on the left side of the screen
4. Type "wpunj" in the search field and run the search
5. Select "William Paterson University - Cheng Library - Full Text @ Cheng Library" and then click on the "Save" button

This will enable you to see the "Full Text @ Cheng Library" links displayed with your search results.