American Decades / Vincent Tompkins, Judith Baughman, Victor Bondi, and Richard Layman. - Detroit: Gale Research, 1994. - edited by Vincent Tompkins.; v. : ill. ; 29 cm; Vol.  edited by Judith S. Baughman; v. -, - edited by Victor Bondi; v.  edited by Richard Layman; v.  edited by Tandy McConnell.; "A Manly, Inc. book."; Includes bibliographical references and indexes.. - Call Number: REF E169.12.A419
Ten-volume set (one for each decade of the twentieth century) covers events, people and trends, with chapters organized according to subject area. Every volume contains a chapter on "Arts," "Fashion," "Lifestyles and Social Trends," "Media," and "Sports."
Chronological History of U.S. Foreign Relations, 2nd Edition / by Lester H. Brune; Richard Dean Burns, consulting editor. - New York: Routledge, 2003. - 3 v. : ill., maps ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF E183.7.B745
Three-volume chronological reference to the major events of U.S. diplomatic history includes descriptions and explanatory notes. A useful reference for placing events in a broader foreign policy context.
Online version of Salem Press' multi-volume reference series contains over 5,000 articles covering events, movements, people, and trends in popular culture, literature, art, sports, science, technology, economics, and politics in the United States and Canada from 1930 through the 1990s. Additional decades will be added as new volumes are purchased.
The Facts on File World Political Almanac / compiled by Chris Cook. - New York: Facts on File, 1989. - 453 p. ; 25 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF D843.C5797
Useful ready reference work covers international political organizations and movements, foreign governments, treaties, alliances, diplomatic agreements, and politics. Also includes topical chapters dealing with major themes in international politics.