This LibGuide is designed to support Fifth Grade exploration of Ancient Civilizations.
The tabs are arranged to reflect the topics in the order that they will be covered in class.
Print resources available at the KMD Media Center and through BCCLS are listed as well as online resources for the students, teachers, and Media Specialist to use to strengthen content knowledge and improve research skills.
KMD MC - located in the Katherine M. DiGuglielmo Media Center at Lincoln School
BCCLS - located within the Bergen County Consortium of Libraries, which the Hasbrouck Heights Public Library is a member of (Library Card required for lending services) (www.bccls.org) I am happy to request books for teachers through our school library card. Please allow 1-2 weeks for processing, due to delivery schedule between members of Consortium)
EBSCO - Collection of Online Research Databases available to students and teachers through the District (use link on computers and laptops-see me for login information) and parents through BCCLS.
JerseyClicks- collection of online databases made available to public schools by the State of New Jersey.Public library card required for access. (www.jerseyclicks.org)
Discovery Streaming - Educational Video Collection available to teachers with password provided by Hasbrouck Heights School District (www.discoveryeducation.com)
BrainPop - online video learning site that teachers have access to through the District. Parents may choose to create an account or view free selections. (www.brainpop.com)
Suggested Databases include:
Novelist- will help you find the right book to continue your learning
Teacher Reference Center-resources for teachers
Primary Search-contains full text for more than 60 popular elementary school magazines, including lexile levels.
Image Collection-contains more than 1 million images
Newspaper Source Plus-includes more than 700 full-text articles, television and radio transcripts
Primary Search-contains full text for children's magazines, encyclopedia entries, and images
*Please contact me for any help that you may need!