Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Sources for Research in the Psychology of Law
Your starting point for a research project should be the Library's reference collection. If you're looking for topic ideas, these can be among the best materials to use, but they are equally helpful even if you already have a topic in mind. These materials are designed to provide you with an introductory overview of a topic. The best reference works:
- are written by experts in their subjects
- will suggest many possible paper topics to you (or help you narrow down a topic that is too broad)
- provide basic facts, background, and contextual information for a subject
- give you a good idea of the major questions and debates political scientists have explored in relation to a subject
- may give you a good idea of the major primary sources available for a subject
- will provide a brief but carefully selected bibliography of important secondary works about the subject
In sum, reference resources are very efficient tools to use in the early stages of research paper topic selection and topic refinement; they are practical stepping stones to the next stages of your project. They can save you time and should be consulted as you begin your work.
Credo Reference's Academic Core
The Credo Reference database is a portal to over 780 full-text reference titles from over 80 major publishers. Easy to search and browse, the Credo platform provides access to text, images, maps, statistics, and graphic concept maps to illustrate connections among and between topics. This is a very useful starting point for any specific topic related to the psychology of law or forensic psychology.
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law by
Call Number: REF K346.E53
Publication Date: 2007-12-21
This two-volume encyclopedia deals with potentially complex issues in a format that is easy to read and understand. It includes a useful "Reader's Guide" organized by themes, which can be helpful to students looking for paper topics. It includes cross-references pointing to related articles and refers to a few further readings at the end of each article. References to legal materials are included within some articles, with citations frequently appearing in the "Further Readings" sections. [Choice]