LibGuides: HIST1030: Foundations of Civilization: Books & Encyclopedias

Credo Reference: Basic Search Box with descriptive text

Search for Books & Media in the Cheng Library Catalog

Books are among the best sources for getting a more in-depth and comprehensive treatment of a historical topic. For a book, try a search in the Cheng Library Catalog.

Recently Published Books

Warriors of Anatolia by Trevor Bryce
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 1786735288
Publication Date: 2018-12-27
In this book, Trevor Bryce sheds fresh light on Hittite warriors as well as on the Hittites' social, religious and political culture and offers new solutions to many unsolved questions.
Babylon: Legend, History and the Ancient City by Michael Seymour
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 0857736078
Publication Date: 2014-08-29
From Hammurabi and Nebuchadnezzar, via Strabo and Diodorus, to the Book of Revelation, Brueghel, Rembrandt, Voltaire, William Blake and modern interpreters like Umberto Eco, Italo Calvino and Gore Vidal, the author brings to light a carnival of disparate sources dominated by powerful and intoxicating ideas such as the Tower of Babel and the city of sin.

Encyclopedias on Ancient History Subjects

Ancient Chinese Warfare by Ralph D. Sawyer
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 9780465021451
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
In Ancient Chinese Warfare, a preeminent expert on Chinese military history uses recently recovered documents and archaeological findings to construct a comprehensive guide to the developing technologies, strategies, and logistics of ancient Chinese militarism. The result is a definitive look at the tools and methods that won wars and shaped culture in ancient China.
Ancient Roman Sports A-Z: Athletes, Venues, Events, and Terms by David Matz
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 1476671699
Publication Date: 2019-10-22
This reference book covers sporting events and activities of the era and the Romans who sponsored, competed in and attended them.
A Companion to the City of Rome by Claire Holleran (Editor); Amanda Claridge (Editor)
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 1405198192
Publication Date: 2018-09-24
A Companion to the City of Rome presents a series of original essays from top experts that offer an authoritative and up-to-date overview of current research on the development of the city of Rome from its origins until circa AD 600.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by Angelo Di Berardino (General Editor); Thomas C. Oden (Consultant Editor); Joel C. Elowsky (Consultant Editor); James Hoover (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 9780830829422
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian Church and comprises 3,220 entries by a team of 266 scholars from 26 countries representing a variety of Christian traditions. It draws upon such fields as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, cultural studies, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.
Who's Who in Ancient Egypt, Routledge by Michael Rice
The whole arena of Egyptian life is expressed in this work. Not only are there nearly a thousand biographies, there's also a chapter on "Encountering the Ancient Egyptians", sections on kingship and on religion, a chronology, and explanation of key terms such as calendars and pyramid texts.
Wars in the Ancient World (Prehistory to 600 CE) by Charles Phillips; Alan Axelrod
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 1438163541
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Wars in the Ancient World (Prehistory to 600 CE) covers important battles from the Fall of Jericho (ca. 8000 BCE) - the earliest recorded example of organized warfare - to the wars of the Chalukya Dynasty in the sixth century, which successfully established Chalukya hegemony over about a third of the Indian subcontinent.
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World by David Sacks; Lisa R. Brody (Revised by)
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 1438141645
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Spanning more than 2,000 years, from the beginning of Minoan civilization in the third millennium BCE to the Roman annexation of mainland Greece in 146 BCE, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Third Edition provides a comprehensive survey of the classical Greek world.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome by Matthew Bunson
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 9780816082179
Publication Date: 2012-02-29
Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Margaret R. Bunson
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 0816082162
Publication Date: 2012-02-29
Ranging from Egypt's predynastic cultures to the suicides of Cleopatra and Marc Antony in 30 BCE, Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt, Third Edition includes detailed entries, each thoroughly reviewed and updated to reflect recent advances in scholarship.
A Guide to the Ancient World by Michael Grant; H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 0824207424
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
This useful companion to classical history reveals the ancient world - from Scotland to India and from Spain to the Black Sea - through the numerous sites of its history and legends.

eBooks & Streaming Video

While searching the catalog, you'll find a number of books and videos with a location of Internet Resource, and a link in place of the call number.

Simply follow the link ('Click here for full text', 'View Streaming Video', etc.) to access the online version of these books and videos.

You will need to log in to view these items from off campus (and on campus, for videos). If you are having trouble, contact the reference desk for assistance (973-720-2116; refdesk@wpunj.edu).