Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Teaching Resources (Print)
All titles are available from the David & Lorraine Cheng Library. Call Numbers with CMC refers to the Curriculum Materials Center, 2nd floor is general circulating collection.
American Indian Themes in Young Adult Literature by
Call Number: 2nd floor PS173 .I6 M65 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Includes essays about contemporary literature, historical fiction, and nonfiction. The bibliography lists both recommended and not recommended titles.
Keepers of the Earth by
Call Number: CMC E98 .F6 C12 1997
Publication Date: 1997
One of a series of guides by these authors that provide Native American stories and suggests science related teaching activities for grades 1-8. Other titles: Keepers of the Animals, Keepers of Life, & Keepers of the Night.
Lessons from Turtle Island by
Call Number: CMC E76.6 J66 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Gives teaching suggestions for the PreK & Kindergarten classroom. Includes lists of resources, books and guidelines.
Roots and Branches by
Call Number: CMC PS153 .I52 S87 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Includes lessons for grades 9-12, and bibliographies of recommended and not recommended titles.
Through Indian Eyes by
Call Number: CMC E77.4 .T63 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Very similar to The Broken Flute but written earlier. Includes essays, and extensive reviews of children's book. "How to Tell the Difference" gives suggestions to help with evaluating a book for stereotypes.
Teaching Resources (Online)
American Indian Youth Literature Award
This award is presented every two years by the American Indian Library Association, an affiliate of the American Library Association. Awarded to the best writing and illustrations that represents "American Indians in the fullness of their humanity in the present and past contexts."
American Indians in Children's Literature
Developed by Debbie Reese this website provides articles about indigenous people in books for children and adolescents. Reviews both recommended and not recommended books with thorough explanations.
Cynthia Leitich Smith
The official site for author Cynthia Leitich Smith includes a section devoted to Children's and Young Adult Lit Resources. In this section the author provides suggestions for evaluating literature about Native Americans and makes recommendations of appropriate titles.
Native Americans: A Resource list for teaching -to or -about Native Americans
Part of Kay Vandergrift's Children's Literature Page, this section is maintained by Debbie Reese and Jean Mendosa. It includes a sampling of recommended children's books and other resources.
Devoted to the accurate and respectful portrayal of Native Americans Oyate reviews books and curricula about Indians. They provide educational workshops and distribute books by and about Indians. Guidelines for evaluating books for anti-Indian bias is available under Resources.
Native American Booklist
Native American booklist
List of K-12 resources that are available from the Curriculum Materials Center of the David & Lorraine Cheng Library of William Paterson University.