Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the most comprehensive resource for locating published research in nursing and allied health. The full text version includes content from over 600 journals indexed in the database, with many article backfiles extending to 1981. Frequently updated, CINAHL also provides searchers with current awareness of the newest journal articles through a rotating file of "Pre-CINAHL" records containing citation information and links to full-text (where available). [1981 - present]
MEDLINE (via ProQuest)
MEDLINE provides access to the research literature of medicine and the health sciences. It includes bibliographic information for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care, plus links to full-text content where this is available. The database currently includes over 18 million records from approximately 5,000 selected publications covering biomedicine and health from 1950 to the present. [1950 - Present]
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases containing different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Library contains full-text systematic reviews in health care, details of published articles on controlled trails (including the methods used), abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed, details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments, and economic evaluations of competing healthcare interventions from around the world.
BMJ Best Practice
The BMJ Best Practice database is designed to assist health professionals make accurate and effective diagnosis and treatment decisions. Containing regularly updated research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion, the database covers prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis for a wide variety of conditions. Contents include condition, assessment, and overview monographs; a drugs database containing information on dosing, availability, formulations, side effects and contraindications; and a collection of patient education leaflets providing summary information on conditions and their causes, treatment options, and other useful information, supporting shared decision-making between patients and healthcare professionals.
MEDLINE (via PubMed)
MEDLINE provides access to the research literature of medicine and the health sciences. It includes bibliographic information for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care, plus links to full-text content where this is available. [1966 - present]
Additional Library Databases
Basics of Research
The Well-Built Clinical Question
From the excellent "Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice" website by Duke University Medical Center Library and Health Sciences Library at UNC, Chapel Hill
Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice
THis excellent tutorial was developed by Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library at the Univerisity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.