Skip to Main Content
PBHL3170: Popular Literature in Public Health
Search this Guide
PBHL3170: Popular Literature in Public Health: Health Disparities
Addiction & Homelessness
Death & Dying
Call Number: DVD 1108
Available in Media Services.
DVD 984 available at Media Services.
The Waiting Room
Unnatural causes: Is inequality making us sick?
Recommended Books & eBooks
Health and Wealth Disparities in the United States
Anupam B. Jena; Tomas J. Philipson; Eric Sun
Call Number: RA407.3 .J46 2010eb
Publication Date: 2010
Health Disparities in the United States
Donald A. Barr
Call Number: RA 418.3.U6B37 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Toward Equity in Health
Barbara C. Wallace
Call Number: RA418 .H3894 2006eb
Publication Date: 2007
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: National Healthcare Quality & Disparity Reports
These reports measure trends in in effectiveness of care, patient safety, and other factors. The Disparities Report reviews health care quality across various racial, ethnic, and income groups as well as rural populations.
Center for Disease Control: Minority Health & Health Equity
Provides links to a wealth of information on a variety of health disparity topics as well as age, gender, disease specific populations.
Children's Defense Fund
Provides access to customizable and preparted reports on a wide variety of issues affecting this population including health coverage, poverty, and homelessness.
This site is sponsored by the Harvard School of Public Health and provides access to socioeconomic indicators for metropolitan areas in the form of tables, maps and customizable reports.
National Cancer Institute: Health Disparities
Provides links to data and statistics with a special focus on health disparities as they relate to cancer.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology: Health Disparities
This center is part of the National Library of Medicine and their site provides links to a wealth of health disparity data.
New Jersey Department of Health: Health Disparities
Provides links to the state's strategic plan to address health disparities as well as to data about health indicators, chronic diseases, and links to NJ state efforts to target and reduce disparity.
World Health Organization: Data and Statistics
Provides links to statistics by topic or country.
US Office on Women's Health: Minority Women's Health
Provides links to a variety of US government reports and data sets concerning health statistics for specific populations.
Mar 20, 2020 5:56 PM
Login to LibApps