Skip to main content

EDLP6160: Curriculum Design: Integrating Technology Across Disciplines: Finding Articles about Education

Tips for Searching Databases

All databases will give you the option of limiting your search to Scholarly or Peer Reviewed articles.

Do not check the Full-Text only box. This will limit you to only the full-text available in THAT database, not to the extensive collection of journals that are available from the Cheng Library.

If you get too few or no results, check your spelling, or use related seach terms, e.g. instead of grade 12, try secondary education.

If you find a good source, look at the descriptors or subject terms to identify helpful search terms.

Use the term, and, to narrow your search, e.g. computers and instruction.

Use the term, or,  with related terms to broaden your search, e.g. computers or technology.

For best results search for your topic in multiple databases, but be prepared to adjust your search terms and/or search strategy. The search interfaces of Proquest and EbscoHost work differently.

If working on a major research project, keep a search journal recording the databases used, the search terms tried, and the success of the search. This can keep you from repeating an unsuccessful search, or a search you've already done.

 

Finding Articles about Education Topics

Here are links and brief descriptions of the Library databases that can be used to find articles about education.

If accessing from off-campus use your WPUNJ username and password to login.

Browse Selected Journals

Here are some journals about current education issues: