PBHL2700: Concepts and Issues in Aging: Recommended Websites

Provided by the University of Missouri-Kansas City's Center on Aging Studies.

This forum was created to increase awareness about ageism.

This project hosts a blog which provides a safe forum for people to anonymously share their experiences.

A brief article by Melissa Dittmann published in May 2003 in the APA's Monitor journal, volume 34, number 5.

ALFA, the Assisted Living Federation of America, provides a summary of ageism and a list of links to news stories.

This publication is produced by the National Institutes of Health's National Institute on Aging.

This NIA publication reviews the biology of aging.

Provides information and links to resources about exercise for older adults, including the Go4Life exercise program.

This is an exercise and activity campaign from teh National Institute on Aging designed to help older adults fit physical activity into their daily lives.

This easy to read brochure produced by the American Automobile Association explains how to compensate for the effects of aging and helps older drivers continue to drive safely. See companion video on Recommended Video tab of this guide.

This brochure is provided by the Griatric Mental Health Foundation.

Provides links to end-of-life care resources for professionals, patients, and families.

Article by Robert Butler.

Article by Tara Parker-Pope published in the May 2, 2013 issue of The New York Times.

This site provides links to information for consumers about depression in later life.

Provides information for both caregivers and health professionals about the disease and related topics.

This interactive tour explains how the brain works and how Alzheimer's affects it.

This association works to enhance research, care and support for those affected by Alzheimer's and other dementias.

This federal site provides data and statistics about older adults including, life expectancy, mortality, chronic health conditions, and functional limitations.

Article by T.L. Mitzner, T.L. Chen, C.C. Kemp, & W.A. Rogers of the Georgia Institute of Technology, published in the Proceedings of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society 55th annual meeting in 2011.

This alliance is a coalition of national organizations focusing on advancing family caregiving through research, innovation and advocacy.

ADRC provides information and assistance to older people, caregivers, and professionals, including programs, services, and resources.

A membership organization focused on positive social change and valuing people aged 50 and over.

Provides a wealth of resources and information to help GrandFamilies succeed.

Article by Paul Sullivan published in the New York Times September 11, 2012.

This U.S. government website is produced by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

New York Times article by Patricia Leigh Brown published August 30, 2009.