Skip to main content

HIST4280: Stalin and His Times: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union, 2nd ed. / edited by Archie Brown, Michael Kaser and Gerald S. Smith ; associate editor, Patricia Brown ; [consultant editor, art and architecture, John. E. Bowlt]. - Cambridge [Cambridgeshire]; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994. - xi, 604 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 29 cm. - Maps on lining papers. - Includes bibliographical references (p. 570-579) and index. - Call Number: REF DK14.C35
'This one-volume reference provides essays covering the physical environment, the peoples, history, art and architecture, language and literature, cultural life, the sciences, politics, the economy, society, military power, and international relations.


Companion to Russian History / by John Paxton. - New York, N.Y.: Facts on File Publications, 1983. - xi, 503 p. : ill. ; 24 cm. - Bibliography: p. 469-475. - Call Number: REF DK36.P39
One-volume historical dictionary contains over 2,500 entries spanning Russian history from the 10th century to the end of the Khrushchev era.


Dictionary of the Russian Revolution / George Jackson, editor-in-chief ; Robert Devlin, assistant editor. - New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. - xviii, 704 p. : ill. ; 25 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and indexes. - Call Number: REF DK265.D49
A one-volume "guide to the major parties, institutions, figures, movements, and concepts associated with the Russian Revolution of 1917-21. With contributions from about 100 scholars, the dictionary contains a wide array of articles, ranging from a few hundred to 2,500 words in length. Many of the articles are signed, and most include a brief bibliography." [Choice]


Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000 / Peter N. Stearns, editor-in-chief. - New York: Scribner, 2001. - 6 v. : ill. ; 28 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index (v. 6). - Call Number: REF HN373.E63
Covering the period from the beginning of the Renaissance to the present, this six-volume encyclopedia consists of 209 signed articles and nearly 300 biographical entries. The set is thoroughly indexed and amply illustrated.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website