Skip to main content

SOC2130: Sociological Theory: Finding Articles

Database Tips

As with book searches, it's important to start with a solid set of keywords (Goffman, biography, self, etc.).  But, unlike finding books and media, the databases to the right contain much more inforamtion.  Therefore, it may be necessary to use additional keywords and limits to find the articles you want.

To get you started, here are some useful search tips:

  1. Start with the recommended databases, but don't limit yourself.
  2. Make sure to keep a record of where you got an article, so you can cite it later.
  3. Check out the Reference list at the end of good articles (and books!), to find similar readings.
  4. Don't give up if the article isn't available in full-text!  Use Interlibrary Loan, or ask for help.
  5. Having problems? Ask the Reference Librarian for assistance.

 

Databases & Journal Collections

Even though you might be tempted to Google articles for your projects, the better way to find quality research is through the Library's databases.  The databases listed below are a great starting point for finding information about religions or religious theorists.

Check out the tips to the left, for pointers on putting together an effective search.

Is It Scholarly?

How can you tell if you've found a scholarly article?

Some of our databases allow you to limit your results to Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed (possibly Refereed) articles.  In some cases, this isn’t so clear.  You can either check with your professor or a librarian, or you can search for the journal name in Ulrichsweb (under Articles & Databases, on the Library homepage). 

Once you’ve found the name of the journal you’re looking for, look for a small referee’s shirt icon (), to the left of the title.  This indicates that there is scholarly (peer-reviewed, refereed…) value to the articles in this title.

Found a Citation?

When reviewing articles and books, you might come across a citation for another article that you'd like to use. 

To find out if the Library has the article, use the Journals A-Z List tab on the Library homepage, and search for the journal name (not the name of the article).

This will tell you if we have the full-text of this article in another database OR in paper or microform (WPUNJ Print, WPUNJ Film, WPUNJ Fiche).

Check your citation to find out the year that the article was published and compare it to the available options.