Skip to main content

POL2020: Research Methods in Political Science: Reference Works in Political Science

Reference and research tools for the undergraduate research methods course in political science.

Selected Reference Works in Political Science

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Atlases, and Reference Handbooks

Credo Reference's Academic Core
The Credo Reference database is a portal to over 780 full-text reference titles from over 80 major publishers. Easy to search and browse, the Credo platform provides access to text, images, maps, statistics, and graphic concept maps to illustrate connections among and between topics. This is a very useful starting point for any specific topic related to the end of the Cold War era.

Statistical Reference

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the most authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It offers convenient access to a wide variety of data on such topics as population, education, elections, all major sectos of the economy, health and nutrition, government, science and technology, transportation, housing, and much more. Every table in the Statistical Abstract provides citations to more extensive and detailed sources of data for its subject, which also makes it an efficient guide to data sources. The data in the Statistical Abstract is drawn from the Census Bureau, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. [2013 - Present]

Major U.S. Governmental Statistical Agencies
A useful link directory to the major U.S. governmental statistical agencies.

Selected Reference Books


Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict (Elsevier Science & Technology, 2008)

Key Concepts in Governance (Sage UK, 2008)

Power and Succession in Arab Monarchies (Lynne Rienner Publishers, Inc., 2008)

A Glossary of Political Theory (Edinburgh University Press, 2007)

Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought (Macmillan Publishers Ltd, 2007)

The Essentials of Global Politics (Hodder Education, 2006)

From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women (Grey House Publishing, 2006)

Key Concepts in Political Communication (Sage UK, 2006)

Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics (ABC-CLIO, 2005)

Handbook of Global Environmental Politics (Edward Elgar Publishing, 2005)

A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy (Edward Elgar Publishing, 2005)

The Handbook of Political Sociology: States, Civil Societies, and Globalization (Cambridge University Press, 2005)

Dictionary of Politics and Government (A&C Black, 2004)

The Encyclopedia of Public Choice (Springer Science+Business Media, 2004)

Public Opinion and Polling Around the World: A Historical Encyclopedia (ABC-CLIO, 2004)

The A-Z of Social Research (Sage UK, 2003)

A Dictionary of Diplomacy (Macmillan Publishers Ltd, 2003)

Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law (ABC-CLIO, 2003)

Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations (ABC-CLIO, 2002)

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics (Routledge, 2002)

Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Fundamental Themes (Elsevier Science & Technology, 2000)

Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Leaders, Movements, and Concepts (Elsevier Science & Technology, 2000)

The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science (Blackwell Publishers, 1999)

Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945 (ABC-CLIO, 1999)
 

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website