Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are many places to find health statistics online. Below are some useful links, although this list is not exhaustive. The U.S. government is tasked with collecting information on a variety of topics, and individual organizations are also great places to look.
If you are struggling to find statistics or demographic information about your topic, explore the options below, or search the internet (see Finding Stats Online section).
Find statistics from government, non-profit, and corporate surveys on a wide range of topics, including health disparities.
A great place to find demographic information pulled from various surveys and the decennial census.
United States Health Statistics
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides 10 year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. This site provides a wealth of information including benchmarks, interventions and preventive activities.
NIH - National Institute on Aging
Federal government site that compiles aging-related data and statistics from various government agencies
County Health Rankings
Provides access to 50 state reports which rank counties by health outcomes and health factors.
This Centers for Disease Control and Prevention site provides access to a variety of public health statistics, organized alphabetically by topic.
Provides search capability that allows access to the official statistical information produced by the US Federal Government without needing to know which agency produced the statistic.
National Center for Health Statistics
Data is provided by the US Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, the principal source for statistical health information in the US.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Minority Health
Provides links to standards, guides, and other resources for increasing cultural competency in practice. Also includes health profiles of different minority groups.
Center for Disease Control: Minority Health & Health Equity
Provides links to a wealth of information on a variety of health disparity topics as well as age, gender, disease specific populations.
National Healthcare Quality & Disparity Reports (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)
These reports measure trends in in effectiveness of care, patient safety, and other factors. The Disparities Report reviews health care quality across various racial, ethnic, and income groups as well as rural populations.
Children's Defense Fund
Provides access to customizable and preparted reports on a wide variety of issues affecting this population including health coverage, poverty, and homelessness.
This site is sponsored by the Harvard School of Public Health and provides access to socioeconomic indicators for metropolitan areas in the form of tables, maps and customizable reports.
National Cancer Institute: Health Disparities
Provides links to data and statistics with a special focus on health disparities as they relate to cancer.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology: Health Disparities
This center is part of the National Library of Medicine and their site provides links to a wealth of health disparity data.
World Health Organization: Data and Statistics
Provides links to statistics by topic or country.
US Office on Women's Health: Minority Women's Health
Provides links to a variety of US government reports and data sets concerning health statistics for specific populations.
Finding Stats Online
If you're looking for statistical information online, be sure that you can trust the source before using it.
One way that you can do this is to limit your results to certain domains:
site:.gov or site:.edu
For example, census.gov or cdc.gov
Many organizations (.org) also collect statistical data. In order to ensure that an organization is legitimate, be sure to check the About Us/Contact Us links to learn more about them.
Here are links to get you started... On the results page, just add details of what you're looking for (population, disparity, etc.)