LibGuides: PBHL2950: Disparities in Health: Cultural Competence

Cultural Competence

Cultural competence is important in understanding the needs and challenges of different populations. It can help you to empathize with people who are different from you, and to approach their health-related concerns with respect.

These resources have been selected as a starting point for finding information about different populations, and includes books, ebooks and websites that you can explore.

If you don't see your population listed here, look for additional resources under the Books & Media or Find Articles tabs on the Library homepage.

Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:

By phone

Call 973-720-2116

By e-mail

Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - refdesk@wpunj.edu

By chat

Library home page

Schedule a Research Appointment

Contact the library for an appointment

with a Reference Librarian:

Schedule Research Help

Recommended Websites

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Minority Health
Provides links to standards, guides, and other resources for increasing cultural competency in practice. Also includes health profiles of different minority groups.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: Culture, Language and Health Literacy
Provides links to health literacy tools, culturally sensitive materials, and practice guidelines for services to various special populations.
State of New Jersey Office of Minority and Multicultural Health: Cultural Competency
Provides links to ongoing NJ Department of Health initiaitives and to local and national resources and tools.
DiversityRx: Improving Healthcare for a Diverse World
Provides links to a wide range of topics and issues affecting the accessibility and quality of healthcare for minority, immigrant, and indigenous communities.
Ethnomed
This site contains information about cultural beliefs, medical and health issues as they relate to immigrant and refugee groups.
Georgetown University's National Center for Cultural Competence
Provides to links for guides and planning tools and other resources for designing and implementing culturally and linguistically competent health and mental health care.
National Institutes of Health
There used to be a Minority Health section of this site, but relevant pages can be found using the search tool. Many of the NIH's divisions have minority-related pages for review.
Racial Equity Tools: Health and Healthcare
Provides links to data and resources.

Books & E-books

Achieving cultural competency: A case-based approach to training health professionals
Call Number: E-Book
Handbook of African American Health
Call Number: RA448.5.N4 H3634 2010
Disabilities : insights from across fields and around the world
Call Number: HV1568.D54 2009
The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People
Call Number: RA564.9.H65 H44 2011 and E-Book
ISBN: 9780309210621
Cross-cultural caring: A handbook for health professionals
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 C763 2005