Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a primary source?
Primary sources are original materials or artifacts created during the time period under study. Different disciplines may have varied defintions of primary sources.
To find primary sources in the Cheng Library Online Catalog, consider using the following terms in combination with your topic
- Letters or correspondence
- Personal Narratives
- Documents or documentary
Many archives and special collections offer online access to selected primary sources. Other types of primary sources include news articles from a specific time period, journal articles presenting original research, recordings.
Documents of American prejudice : an anthology of writings on race from Thomas Jefferson to David Duke
Call Number: E184.A1 D64 1999
Hands on the freedom plow : personal accounts by women in SNCC
Call Number: E185.96 .H24 2010
U.N. Decade for Women : documents and dialogue
Call Number: HQ1154.F685 1987
Women together : a history in documents of the women's movement in the United States
Call Number: HQ1426.P34
Newspaper accounts from a specific period can often provide valuable insights into historical events. The New York Times for example began publication in 1851. Depending on the event you are researching, a combination of online, print and mciroform may be necessary. For more recent events, a variety of online sources are available.
This database includes the editorial content of US, NJ and international newspaper. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
New York Times Archive Search
1851 to 1922
Once you locate the citation, copies of the articles can be viewed on film or fiche in the Periodicals Department. You can also have the articles scanned and sent to your WP email account.
Includes WSJ, NYT and other newsoaosers from 1980 to the present.
American Memory from the Library of Congress
The American Memory Project includes phots, recordings. manuscripts and other resources. Collections include African American History, Immigration/American Expansion, Native American History, and Women's History.