Skip to main content

POL4800: American Dissident Thought (Capstone Seminar): Databases for Secondary Sources

Databases for Secondary Sources

Academic Search Complete
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 8,500 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. The database includes several dozen specific and searchable subject terms to describe a variety of social movements, and it is recommend you make use of these when searching the database to obtain focused results. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


America: History and Life
Bibliographic database contains over 400,000 citations and abstracts for journal and magazine articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the world's scholarly literature about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes material from over 2,100 journals and magazines written in over 40 languages, although the majority of items were published in English. Most of the items in the database were issued after 1959. Many records now contain links to full-text articles in other Library databases. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Contemporary Women's Issues
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press, with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


JSTOR
The JSTOR electronic journal archive includes full-text backfiles for several major scholarly journals in history, political science, and sociology. The collection can be searched or browsed. From the openning screen, select appropriate subject collections from the list of disciplines before entering your search terms. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Lexis-Nexis Academic
Full-text database contains current and archives files for U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast media transcripts, congressional news releases, transcripts of congressional hearings, presidential and departmental press briefings, legal news, federal and state statutes and case law, federal regulations, and biographical sources. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


PAIS International (with PAIS Archive)
The PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International database contains almost two million references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and other materials covering the broad field of public affairs, pulic and social policy, and international relations. The database indexes materials from over 120 countries, including items published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish, and it features sophisticated searching capabilities that support searching on 21 indexed fields. Our access includes the complete PAIS archive, spanning the period from 1915 to the present. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. The publications include over 6,500 scholarly journals, over 3,600 trade publications, over 2,000 magazines and newspapers, and over 800 industry reports, plus dissertations and theses, company annual reports, and videos. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Sociological Abstracts
This bibliographic database is the best place to look for scholarly research articles on topics in sociology. Over 635,000 records cover journals and other publications in sociology from 1963 to the present. In many cases, articles in the database may be available online. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Women's Studies International
This bibliographic database covers the core disciplines in women’s studies, including sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education. Sources indexed include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites and web documents, and grey literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. Over 440,000 records cover articles from more than 1,400 periodical titles, with coverage from 1975 to the present. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website