Languages & Cultures: Languages & Cultures: Databases, Journals, & Online Resources

Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 4,800 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. Funded by the the New Jersey State Library.

The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing and preserving films. FIAF's editorial staff, along with its Affiliates, produces the International Index to Film Periodicals which offers in-depth coverage of film and media studies, theory and history from academic and popular film journals. This database contains FIAF's "Treasures from Film Archives," a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world. [ 1972 - Present ]

Grove Art Online is a full-text portal to high-quality art reference sources, including the Grove Dictionary of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. The database also includes links to art image sources including ARTstor, Bridgeman Education, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art (New York), the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists.

Archive of over 1,650 major journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, education, area studies, mathematics and statistics, life sciences, and much more. Funding for the acquisition of the JSTOR Arts and Sciences V, VI, VIII, and IX Collections was provided by a generous gift from the Student Government Association. [18th Century - Present]

Kanopy BASE includes over 9,500 streaming videos on a wide variety of subjects, including art and artists, anthropology, K-12 lessons and education, Asian and African studies, history, health, applied science, business skills, film studies, biology and environmental sciences, literature, economics, gender studies, and many other subjects. While primarily consisting of documentaries, the collection also includes a large number of feature films and television programming. Among the distributors are Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, IFC Films, New Day Films, Shout Studies, and many others. A complete title list is available for download.

streaming video

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. The database provides abstracts and - where available - links to the full-text of journal articles, plus citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 publications, and it also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. [1973 - Present]

Full-text literary reference database contains over 27,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism; over 140,000 author biographies; over 569,000 book reviews; the text of 57,000 classic/contemporary poems and 14,500 classic/contemporary short stories; 4,700 author interviews; and over 7,100 classic literary texts. The database also contains full-text reference content from a number of literature encyclopedias.

Full-text database covering over 135,000 authors, with detailed biographical, bibliographical and contextual information about authors' lives and works. Also includes over 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays and reviews from over 390 scholarly journals and literary magazines, more than 75,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews from the database publisher's many compilations of literary criticism, plus author interviews, links to web sites, and more. [Date coverage varies]

The MLA International Bibliography is a bibliographic database to journal articles, books, and dissertations relating to all forms of human communication. Coverage includes literature from all over the world - Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The database currently contains over 2 million records back to 1926 and covers over 4,400 journals. Links to full-text articles are provided in the database where these are available. [1926 - present]

ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. The publications include over 6,500 scholarly journals, over 3,600 trade publications, over 2,000 magazines and newspapers, and over 800 industry reports, plus dissertations and theses, company annual reports, and videos.

Full-text access to over 150,000 electronic books from a wide variety of academic publishers, covering every subject.

e-book

Full-text access to newspapers and other news media from the United States, Canada, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East. Important titles include the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal, The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications, plus many other major news publications.

Over 1,900 full-text scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines including behavioral sciences, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences and law, mathematics, medicine, physics and astronomy.

The University's Media Library contains video produced by members of the University campus community as well as licensed video from third party vendors.streaming video