Skip to main content

ELCL6290: Research in Education: Finding Articles

General Search Tips

All databases will give you the option of limiting your search to Scholarly or Peer Reviewed articles.

Do not check the Full-Text only box. This will limit you to only the full-text available in THAT database, not to the extensive list of journals that are available from the Cheng Library.

If your topic is too broad, you'll get too many articles (over 100).

If you get too few or no results, check your spelling, or use related search terms, e.g. instead of grade 12, try secondary education.

Look at the descriptors or subject terms to identify appropriate search terms.

Use the term, and, to narrow your search, e.g. computers and instruction.

Use the term, or,  with related terms to broaden your search, e.g. computers or technology.

Avoid using complete sentences, or prepositional phrases, in the search box.

Different databases use different search terms. You may need to adjust your search terms as you move from one database to another.

If you are working on a major research project, keep a search journal recording the databases you used, the search terms you tried, and the success of the search. This can keep you from repeating an unsuccessful search.

 

Find Articles about Education Topics

Here are links and brief descriptions of the Library databases that can be used to find articles about education.

 

This full-text database includes nearly 3 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. [1861 - Present]

The product of a collaboration between the Cheng Library and the University's Graduate programs, a collection of over 230 digitized master's theses is now available online through the ProQuest search interface. The majority of titles in the collection are from recent Communication Disorders and Music program graduates, but in 2010 the program is expanding to include other programs and the collection will grow as new theses are submitted for digitization. [2008 - Present]

Web-based bibliographic management software; create a personal account to search and store citations from catalogs an databases. The references can be imported into your research papers and formatted to any style. Students and faculty who have been using the legacy version of RefWorks can still access it through the Legacy RefWorks link. Students and faculty interested in migrating their RefWorks data from the legacy platform to the new platform are invited to contact Richard Kearney, Electronic Resources Librarian, for assistance.

Scholarly v. Popular

When conducting research, you will usually be asked to find Scholarly Articles, or artices from a Scholarly Journal, rather than popular sources (like magazines and newspapers).

Not sure what the difference is between scholarly and popular?  Check out this short tutorial: Scholarly v. Popular

Search Books & Media

 

Search the Cheng Library online catalog for books and media. If you need journal articles, go to our Databases page.