LibGuides: Psychology Resources: Finding Articles

Locating Articles

Finding Articles with Databases

To locate articles using Library databases, you can click on the Articles & Databases tab on the Library homepage. An alphabetical list of more than 100 databases is displayed, which can be limited to Psychology databases, using the dropdown menu.

Depending on your topic, you might find databases in other subject areas to be useful. For instance, if you're focusing on students or other education-related topics, our Education databases would be worth looking at. Or, if your topics has to do with social situations, our Sociology databases might be good resources. Remember, thorough research requires that you look at a number of articles and sources, so don't limit yourself to just one or two databases!

Some of the databases you may find useful to locate psychology related articles include:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to thousands of publications, including a large selection of peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study, including psychology, and offers information dating as far back as 1975. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is a source of searchable full text articles on current issues in psychology. The database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. It contains searchable full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This online database contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Psychology Journals in Proquest Central Index to a range of social science literature includes a great deal of material from sociology journals, much of it available in full text. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Approximately 1,200 full-text journals in the sciences and social sciences, including a variety of psychology journals. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

Locating the Full Text of Articles

For many articles, simply click on the PDF or html link to the full text.
For other articles, especially those with only citations, you will need to use the CHECK Here for Full Text - Article MAY Be Available link, to see if it is available in another database.
Not all journals are made available electronically and may only be available in print or microfiche/microfilm. These can be requested, and the Library will scan and make them available within 48 hours.
In some cases, you may find that we do not have the article at all. Use the Click Here to Request This Article button, to have us try to get it for you.
Both books and articles can be requested through the Interlibrary Loan and Article Copy system. There is no charge for this service but resources are not immediately available. Leave yourself a little extra time when doing research so that your Interlibrary Loans can get here before you need them.

Search Tips

Database Searching Tips

Select/switch to the advanced search option
Do a keyword search first to see what is available
Too many results? Add an additional term or two
Too few results? Think of synonyms for your term(s)
Many databases have a Thesaurus function
Refine or limit your search to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
All databases allow you to print or email your results
Use the references at the end of each article to locate additional sources