Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Think Tank Directories
Research Institutes (WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources)
Annotated link directory of research and public policy institutes maintained by the World Wide Web Virtual Library editor for International Affairs. This directory features a strong emphasis on institutes dealing with international affairs and global policies.
Think Tanks Directory (Kennedy School of Government - Harvard University)
Link directory of over 150 major U.S. and international public policy think tanks maintained by the Kennedy School of Government Library at Harvard University.
World Directory of Think Tanks (National Institute for Research Advancement, Japan)
"Since 1993, Japan's National Institute for Research Advancement has published NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks (NWDTT), which provides a systematic introduction to the world's most prominent and innovative public policy research institutes, or think tanks....The 2008 edition of NWDTT contains basic information on approximately 450 institutions from 100 countries."
An excellent source for "grey literature," DocuTicker's DocuBase offers a hand-picked selection of resources, reports and publications from government agencies, NGOs, think tanks and other public interest organizations. The many selection can be searched and browsed through DocuTicker's web interface.
2018 Global "Go-To" Think Tank Index and Abridged Report
266-page directory (in PDF format) of hundreds of major think tanks compiled by the Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program at the University of Pennsylvania.