LibGuides: SLP2620 Introduction to Communication Disorders: Locating Articles

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results.

Search Tip: Truncation

Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms

The asterisk (*) is usually used to search words with the same root:

Person* = Personal, Personality, Personable, etc.

Wildcard symbols (usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:

Wom?n = Woman, Women

Search Tip: Use the Thesaurus

Many databases feature a subject specific thesaurus of subject terms that relate to content on those databases. The thesaurus allows you to browse for subject terms you can use to search the database. Subject terms are assigned based on article content, allowing you to create a targeted search.

Search Tip: Use the References

Once you locate a few good articles on your topic, be sure to review the references to other articles that are cited. This is a great way to locate related research articles on your topic. Many databases also provide a link to these articles if they are available electronically. If you don't find a link, be sure to check the Library's Journals A-Z List to see if it's available, If not, you can always use our awesome Interlibrary Loan Service.

Locating Articles

Using Library Databases to Find Articles: Search in databases to locate journal articles on a topic relevant to Speech Language Pathology. Listed below are some of the most important databases. You can also access them by clicking on Databases --> and select "Speech Language Pathology" from the drop down. All are accessible from off-campus.

ComDisDome (Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome) This link opens in a new window
Online portal to communication disorders information resources includes a bibliographic database with citations and abstracts for books, journal articles, and dissertations; directories to authors and institutions; a dictionary of speech-language pathology and audiology terms; and a database of web sites useful for research.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text index to articles from over 200 periodical titles in the field of communications and mass media studies, with citations and abstracts for articles from over 100 additional periodicals.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Education Database includes over 1,130 full-text periodicals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education. Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Google Scholar (Full Text @ Cheng Library) This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles from the Library's subscription e-journals using the familiar Google search engine.

For access to our subscription journals through Google Scholar, select the link above and then follow these steps:

1. Click on the top-left corner menu on the screen

2. Select "Settings" from the menu

3. On the next page, select "Library links" from the menu on the left side of the screen

4. Type "cheng" in the search field and run the search

5. Select "David and Lorraine Cheng Library - Full Text@Cheng Library" and then click on the "Save" button

This will enable you to see the "Full Text@Cheng Library" links displayed with your search results.