LibGuides: EXSC6120 Cardiovascular Physiology: Library Databases

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results.

Search Tip: Truncation

Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms

The asterisk (*) is usually used to search words with the same root:

Person* = Personal, Personality, Personable, etc.

Wildcard symbols (usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:

Wom?n = Woman, Women

Search Tip: Use the References

Once you locate a few good articles on your topic, be sure to review the references to other articles that are cited. This is a great way to locate related research articles on your topic. Many databases also provide a link to these articles if they are available electronically. If you don't find a link, be sure to check the Library's Journals A-Z List to see if it's available, If not, you can always use our awesome Interlibrary Loan Service.

Database for Diagnosis and Treatment

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
The BMJ Best Practice database is designed to assist health professionals make accurate and effective diagnosis and treatment decisions. Containing regularly updated research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion, the database covers prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis for a wide variety of conditions.

Locating Research Articles

Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new window
This database provides specialized, editorially curated resources critical to researchers with an academic, professional or personal interest in the field of physical education. Through scholarly and trade literature, the database covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology. [ 1970 - Present ]
MEDLINE (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides access to the research literature of medicine and the health sciences. It includes bibliographic information for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care, plus links to full-text content where this is available. The database currently includes over 18 million records from approximately 5,000 selected publications covering biomedicine and health from 1950 to the present. [1950 - Present]

Locating Theses and Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
This full-text database includes nearly 3 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. [1861 - Present]
Theses and Dissertations @ The William Paterson University of New Jersey This link opens in a new window
The product of a collaboration between the Cheng Library and the University's Graduate programs, a collection of over 230 digitized master's theses is now available online through the ProQuest search interface. The majority of titles in the collection are from recent Communication Disorders and Music program graduates, but in 2010 the program is expanding to include other programs and the collection will grow as new theses are submitted for digitization. [2008 - Present]

Journals in Exercise & Movement Science

BMJ Open Sport & Exercise Medicine

Clinical Kinesiology: Journal of the American Kinesiotherapy Association

Fitness & Performance Journal

International Journal of Exercise Science

International Journal of Kinesiology & Sports Science

International Journal of Men's Health

Journal of Exercise Physiology online

Journal of Exercise Science and Fitness

Journal of Human Kinetics

Journal of Human Sport and Exercise

Journal of Professional Exercise Physiology

Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research

Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise

Movement, Health & Exercise

Nutrition and Metabolic Insights

Physical & Health Education Journal

Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport

Sport & Exercise Psychology Review

Sport Sciences for Health

Sportscience

Strength & Conditioning Journal

Use the Journal Search to look for more!

Take a Closer Look

Research Article Structure

Scholarly vs Popular

Scholarly vs Popular Tutorial

Creating Personal Folders in Databases

Many, if not all, of the library databases allow you to create accounts within the database to store your articles and searches for future reference.

When completing a search, you will often see options such as "Mark" or "Add to Folder" . If you decide to use this feature you will need to create an account in the database. The good news is that once you create an account in an EBSCO or ProQuest database, you can add items from any of their databases using the same username and password.