Skip to Main Content
Technology Education
- Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT)
- The Association for Educational Communications and Technology links professionals interested in the use of educational technology and its application to the learning process. Its goals include a continuous effort to define, serve, develop, enhance, and promote the use of educational communications and technology.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.aect.org/
- Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST)
- Originally established to explore ways to use technology to help students with disabilities, CAST developed the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) which uses flexible methods and materials to teach all students. This website provides extensive information about UDL, and how to implement. Its Learning Tools section includes software to create online books, design lesson plans, conduct online research, etc.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.cast.org
- International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE)
- In conjunction with the U.S. Department of Education, ISTE promotes the appropriate uses of information technology to support and improve learning. The society established the National Educational Technology Standards (NETS).
Grades: K - 12
http://www.iste.org
- Learning for Justice
- A Project of the Southern Poverty Law Center the Teaching Tolerance website provides resources and support for reducing prejudice and encouraging respect for differences in schools. Resources include free video kits, an online magazine, a blog of news items, sample lesson plans and teaching activities.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
https://www.learningforjustice.org/
- New Jersey Association for Educational Technology (NJAET)
- An affiliate of ISTE (International Society for Technology in Education) NJAET is open to all interested in educational technology. NJAET was established to improve communication between education technology professional, enhance professional development opportunities, encourage effective programs and support research for best practices in teaching with technology. This website provides information about association activities including conferences, programs, publications and membership.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.njaet.org
- New Jersey Educational Computing Cooperative (NJECC)
- The New Jersey Educational Computing Cooperative (NJECC) promotes and supports technology in education. An affiliate of ISTE (International Society of Technology in Education) NJECC is a not-for-profit organization that provides workshops, conferences and other professional development activities to improve teaching with technology.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.njecc.org/
Trauma
- National Child Traumatic Stresss Network (NCTSN)
- NCTSN, funded by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, provides resources for parents, teachers and others to provide support to traumatized children and adolescents. Resources are available for all types of traumas from natural disasters, physical and sexual abuse, terrorism, and acts of violence.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.nctsn.org/
Visual and Performing Arts Education
- Dalcroze Society of America
- Developed by Emile Jaques-Dalcroze to tap into students' natural sense of rhythm, the Dalcroze Eurhythmics approach focuses on rhythmic movement, aural training, and improvisation. Information about Dalcroze and the Dalcroze method, teacher training programs, etc. is available from this website.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.dalcrozeusa.org/
- National Art Education Association (NAEA)
- The NAEA, a non-profit, educational organization promotes art education through professional development, education and advocacy. The website provides access to downloadable promotional materials and lists of their publications.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.naea-reston.org/
World Languages Education
- American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
- The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages is a national organization of foreign language educators from elementary to graduate level, promotes the study of languages and cultures in the United States.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.actfl.org/
- Modern Language Association (MLA)
- The Modern Language Association works to strengthen the study and teaching of language and literature, in both English and foreign languages. The MLA publishes books, pamphlets, a comprehensive international bibliography, and style guidelines.
Grades: 9 - 12
http://www.mla.org/
- SAMHSA (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration)
- SAMHSA, an agency within the US Department of Health and Human Services, was established "to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities." This website provides information and resources about the prevention, treatment and recovery from a wide range of health issues. Topics covered include suicide prevention, recovery from disasters, alcohol abuse and substance abuse. Within most of these topics a variety of print and online resources can be retrieved. Available in multiple languages.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
https://www.samhsa.gov/
