LibGuides: Associations and Organization Resources by Subjects: Subjects: S

School Law

Education Law Center: The Education Law Center (ELC) is an advocate for children in New Jersey public schools. Their website gives background information about issues affecting public schools, including bullying, funding, preschool education, special education and others. The Research section provides over ten years of data about ethnicity and eligibility for school lunch programs. Information about cases argued by the ELC, including Abbott v. Burke is also available.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.edlawcenter.org

United Cerebral Palsy: "Life without limits for people with disabilities." The United Cerebral Palsy (UCP) is committed to ensuring the inclusion of persons with disabilities in all facets of society. Includes links for education, health & wellness, public policy, housing, parenting & families, products & services, sports & leisure, travel and transportation.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.ucp.org/

Wrightslaw: Peter and Pamela Wright teach Special Education Law at William & Mary Law School. This website provides extensive information to support parents, teachers and administrators in assisting and advocating for students with special needs.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.wrightslaw.com/

School Libraries and Media

American Association of School Librarians (AASL): The American Association of School Librarians is a national organization that advocates excellence in the school library media field by promoting collaboration, leadership, and life-long learning. A division of the American Library Association, AASL provides educational opportunities, publications, workshops, and conferences for its members.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/aasl/index.cfm

New Jersey Association of School Librarians (NJASL): The New Jersey Association of School Librarians (NJASL) is a professional association of school library media specialists in New Jersey. The Association advocates library media programs that ensure students and staff will become effective users of information. The NJASL also provides educational opportunities and information through online and print publications, workshops, and conferences.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.njasl.org/

Resources for Librarians: Serving ELL's and their Families: Colorin colorado is "A billingual site for families and educators of English language learners." This portion of their website provides general information to librarians about serving English language learners and their families. It also provides a list of Recommended Books and Publishers, and Recommended Resources for Public Librarians. Included are resources from REFORMA(The National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking).
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.colorincolorado.org/librarians/

Science Education

National Association of Biology Teachers (NABT): The National Association of Biology Teachers (NABT) unites life science educators from around the world to share knowledge and experiences, and to promote professional growth "to provide the best possible biology and life science education for all students."
Grades: K - 12
http://www.nabt.org/

National Science Teachers Association (NSTA): The National Science Teachers Association strives to promote excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning. The Association publishes educational books, a newspaper, and a professional journal for each level of science teaching.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.nsta.org/

Next Generation Science Standards: Released in Spring 2013 the Next Generation Science Standards were developed by the National Research Council, the National Science Teachers Association, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and Achieve. NJ participated in the development of these standards. These standards were adopted by New Jersey in July 2014.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.nextgenscience.org/

Social Studies Education

Association of American Geographers: Education: The Association of American Geographers (AAG) has a number of resources on their Education webpage which are intended to help educators teach geography, earth science, and climate change to their students.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.aag.org/cs/education

National Council for Geographic Education (NCGE): Find standards, lists of publications and other geography-related activities at the website of the National Council for Geographic Education.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.ncge.org

National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS): The mission of the National Council for the Social Studies is to "provide leadership, service, and support for all social studies educators."
Grades: K - 12
http://www.ncss.org/

National Geographic Society: Education: The National Geographic Society's website features an Education section which includes resources for educators, such as lesson plans, units, activities, and educational games. These resources can all be filtered by age group and/or subject.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.nationalgeographic.org/education/

Practicalmoneyskills.ocm: This website has a section for educators, which provides money management lesson plans for all grade levels and students with special needs. Additionally, students can download (in PDF format), a budget worksheet to learn how to build a weekly budget.
Grades: 1 - 12
http://www.practicalmoneyskills.com/

Standards

Next Generation Science Standards: Released in Spring 2013 the Next Generation Science Standards were developed by the National Research Council, the National Science Teachers Association, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and Achieve. NJ participated in the development of these standards. These standards were adopted by New Jersey in July 2014.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.nextgenscience.org/

Statistics

Education Law Center: The Education Law Center (ELC) is an advocate for children in New Jersey public schools. Their website gives background information about issues affecting public schools, including bullying, funding, preschool education, special education and others. The Research section provides over ten years of data about ethnicity and eligibility for school lunch programs. Information about cases argued by the ELC, including Abbott v. Burke is also available.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.edlawcenter.org

Education Law Center: Data & Research: The Education Law Center is an advocate for educational equity in NJ. This section of their website provides extensive data (in the form of charts) for student demographics, free/reduced lunch, etc. Additional data is available for preschools, charter schools, secondary schools and school funding.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.edlawcenter.org/research/data-research.html

Special Education

American Speech Language Hearing Association: The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association is a professional association for speech-language pathologists, audiologists, and speech, language, and hearing scientists. While the primary focus of this website is to serve professionals in the field, information about communication disorders for the general public is available. Additional information about careers, certification, advocacy, research and member-only links to professional journals is included.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.asha.org/

Association of Educational Therapists (AET): AET is a national professional association that develops standards, training programs and public awareness of the practive of educational therapy for children and adults with learning disabilities. The website provides information about membership, certification, professional development, and research.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.aetonline.org

Attention Deficit Disorder Association: The focus of the Attention Deficit Disorder Association (ADDA) is to provide information, resources and networking opportunities to help adults with Attention Deficit/ Hyperactivity Disorder (AD/HD). Their website provides information and resources that focus on the diagnosis, treatments, strategies and techniques for helping adults with AD/HD lead better lives.
Grades: 9 - 12
http://www.add.org/

Autism New Jersey: Autism New Jersey "is a nonprofit agency that provides information, support, and advocacy for families and professionals."
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.autismnj.org/

Autism Society: With its goal of "Improving the lives of all affected by autism" the Autism Society provides inforamtion about the causes, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment of autism and Asperger's Syndrome. This website supports individuals with autism, family members, professional and advocates througn identifying autism-related support services, research and news.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.autism-society.org/

Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST): Originally established to explore ways to use technology to help students with disabilities, CAST developed the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) which uses flexible methods and materials to teach all students. This website provides extensive information about UDL, and how to implement. Its Learning Tools section includes software to create online books, design lesson plans, conduct online research, etc.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.cast.org

Child Development Institute: Child Psychology/Mental Health: The Child Development Institute provides information about parenting issues through this website. The Child Psychology/Mental Health section includes information about ADHD, Asperger's, Fragile X, Tourette's, etc. The site includes a Monthly Newsletter, Weekly Podcasts, a Blog and recent research.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.childdevelopmentinfo.com/disorders/

Children and Adults with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (CHADD): CHADD is an advocacy organization for students with disabilities, and they list on their site a variety of fact sheets, research, and recommended reading for those who wish to learn more about this disorder.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.chadd.org/

Council for Exceptional Children (CEC): As an international professional organization dedicated to improving education for students with special need, the CEC's web site provides legislative updates, information about professional development, career opportunities and professional standards. A catalog of publications, and access to their journals: The Exceptional Child and Teaching Exceptional Children, are also available.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.cec.sped.org

International Dyslexia Association: Membership of The International Dyslexia Association (IDA) consists of professionals in partnership with people with dyslexia and their families. This website includes information and research about dyslexia and its treatment, as well as information about the organization, conferences and member-only access to the journal, Annals of Dyslexia and Perspectives on Language and Literacy.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.interdys.org/

IRIS Center: The IRIS Center aims to provide free, high-quality, online training resources for faculty and professional development providers about students with disabilities. These research-based resources include tutorials, videso, podcast, brochures, information briefs and case studies. This Web site is made possible through a grant between Vanderbilt University and the Office of Special Education Programs, U.S. Department of Education.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://iris.peabody.vanderbilt.edu

LD Online: LD OnLine is a national educational service of WETA-TV, the PBS station in Washington, D.C. Calling itself the world's leading web site on learning disabilities and ADHD, LD OnLine serves parents, teachers, and other professionals with articles, multimedia, advice, lists of resources and online forums. A Kids section enables sharing artwork and writing.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.ldonline.org/

Learning Disabilities Association of America: Learning Disabilities Association of America (LDA) was created to provide support for parents and teachers of children with learning disabilities. This website provides information about the assessment and evaluation process, strategies for more effective instruction, as well as lists of agencies and other resources for addtional information and support.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.ldaamerica.org/

National Association of Special Education Teachers: The National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET) is dedicated to meeting the needs of special education teachers and those preparing for the field of special education. This website includes audio and print resources about various disabilities, developing IEP's, classroom management, laws, conferences and job openings.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.naset.org/

National Center on Disability and Access to Education: The National Center on Disability and Access to Education (NCDAE) promotes electronically-mediated distance education policies and practices to enhance the lives of people with disabilities. Supported by the Utah State University, Center for Disabilities, the website includes news articles about accessibility, fact sheets for software accomodations, and videos of people with disabilities.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.ncdae.org/

National Center on Secondary Education and Transition (NCSET): Headquartered at the University of Minnesota, NCSET works with educators, community professionals, employers and families to support youth with disabilities in their education and transition needs. The NCSET website offers national, state and local assistance and planning information for secondary and post-secondary education, employment and independent living.
Grades: 9 - 12
http://www.ncset.org

National Center on Universal Design for Learning: Sponsored by CAST (Center for Applied Special Technology) this website includes videos, presentations, links and articles to teach the basics of Universal Design for Learning (UDL), and how to implement UDL in the classroom. Also provides information about advocacy for UDL, how to connect with other teachers and research about UDL.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.udlcenter.org

National Down Syndrome Society: The mission of the National Down Syndrome Society is to be the national advocate for the value, acceptance and inclusion of people with Down syndrome. Their website has information about Down syndrome, the education, development, community life, and healthcare of people with Down syndrome, as well as policy and research. My Great Story includes personal stories of individuals with Down syndrome.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.ndss.org/

National Institute of Mental Health: The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery and cure. This website provides background about various mental disorders, as well as information about clinical trials, research, statistics, etc. Free publications are available. Part of the National Institutes of Health.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.nimh.nih.gov/

Traumatic Brain Injury.com: Provides information about traumatic brain injury including symptoms, treatment and prevention. Includes informative videos from the Pennsylvania Brain Injury Association. The site is sponsored by and paid for by the Law Firm of Cohen, Placitella and Roth, P.C. Their mission is to be the leading Internet resource for education, advocacy, research and support for brain injury survivors, their families, and medical and rehabilitation professionals.
Grades: K - 12
http://www.traumaticbraininjury.com/

United Cerebral Palsy: "Life without limits for people with disabilities." The United Cerebral Palsy (UCP) is committed to ensuring the inclusion of persons with disabilities in all facets of society. Includes links for education, health & wellness, public policy, housing, parenting & families, products & services, sports & leisure, travel and transportation.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.ucp.org/

Wrightslaw: Peter and Pamela Wright teach Special Education Law at William & Mary Law School. This website provides extensive information to support parents, teachers and administrators in assisting and advocating for students with special needs.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
http://www.wrightslaw.com/