LibGuides: MUSI1510: Audio Recording for Musicians: Recordings/Streaming Music

Audio Resources @ Cheng Library

The Cheng Library contains a variety of audio recordings and resources to use in your studies.

CDs
While our CD collection has shrunk in recent years, there are still many valuable recordings available to you. CDs can be located through the Books & Media tab on our homepage, and are available for checkout at the Lending Services desk.

Click here for a current list of CD titles.
Streaming Audio
Our two Naxos databases offer streaming audio from over 650 record labels. Access is provided through our Databases page, from both on and off campus.

Streaming Audio Databases

Consider using our two Naxos databases to locate and compare different types of recordings from around the world.

For instance:

Find two versions of the same recording and do a comparison of the sound quality.
Explore different recording venues to see how the sound quality changes between live, concert, studio, etc.
Listen to a recording and come up with a plan for how you might improve it.

Some of the recordings you find (more often in Naxos Music Library Jazz) will even have liner notes that can give context to the recording venue and other considerations!

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
The Naxos Music Library is a large online classical music library. It offers streaming audio access to over 100,000 albums and features over 1.4 million tracks covering both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new albums are added to the library every month. The database offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 record labels. Along with classical music, a selection of jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented. The Naxos Music Library can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. With the iPhone/iPod and Android mobile apps, subscribers can also access the service on the go, and the HTLM5 player can stream music though the standard internet connection of the most phones and tablets. The contents of the library can be searched by composer, work, genre and label; by keyword search; and by a sophisticated advanced search engine with up to 11 combined search criteria. In addition to the audio, Naxos Music Library provides liner notes for many recordings. Listeners can create personalized playlists or use predefined Naxos Music Library playlists.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz, the catalogue of Blue Note Records, and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz along with Prophone and Proprius. It currently offers over 100,000 tracks of jazz from 260 labels, and over 12,000 jazz artists are represented. U.S.-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. Blue Note offers albums featuring the legendary artist John Coltrane and iconic artists such as Herbie Hancock, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter and many others.