Skip to Main Content
Resources
- Community Club
- Part of Scholastic's Listen and Read collection of short stories that young readers can read and/or listen to. The Community Club section includes eight community helpers. There is a quiz at the end of each story. Other subject areas covered are: American History, Animals, Civics and Government, Environmental Studies, Plants and Flowers, Science, and Social Studies
Grades: PreK - 2
-
- ECAP Collaborative
- The Early Childhood and Parenting Collaborative of the University of Illinois is dedicated to suppporting and sharing information about research in early childhood education, child care and parenting.
Grades: PreK - 3
- Fred Rogers Company
- Created as a legacy to Mister Rogers, this website provides a link to Mister Rogers Neighborhood that contains songs, games, episodes from the show and coloring pages. Parenting Resources includes suggestions for dealing with Everyday Experiences, First Experiences and Special Challenges.
Grades: PreK - K
- Parent Resources -- Special Challenges
- The Fred Rogers Company continues the legacy of Mr. Rogers in helping children and parents cope with special situations such as adoption, death, divorce and separation, moving, and tragic events in the news. Each topic includes a short clip from Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood, Thoughts from Fred Rogers,and Helpful Hints.
Grades: K - 2
- Parenting Resources from The Fred Rogers Company
- The Parenting Resources page suggests how parents, teachers and counselors can handle new and challenging situations with young children. Topics such as meeting someone with disabilities, dealing with death and tragic events in the news, provide helpful hints and many include video clips from the Mister Rogers program.
Grades: PreK - 2
- PBS Kids
- A site navigated by pictures only, perfect for preschool kids. Includes educational games, stories, and music about their favorite characters like Curious George, Clifford the dog and Barney.
Grades: PreK - 2
-
- What Works Clearinghouse (WWC)
- Developed by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), part of the U.S. Department of Education, this website identifies education practices that are based on reviews of education research. It includes a searchable database of research studies that have been reviewed.
Grades: PreK - 12
- Zero to Three
- Written for parents and professionals this website provides extensive information about the development of infants and toddlers. Zero to three is a non-profit organization dedicated to training and supporting those who care for very young children.
Grades: PreK - 3
