Skip to Main Content
Lesson Plans and Teaching Activities
- Bedtime Math
-
- Created by a mother, Laura Bilodeau Overdeck, who invented math problems for her kids, this website includes math puzzles, many of them based on real life situations. Most puzzles are differentiated for "wee ones," "little kids" and "big kids."
Grades: PreK - 6
- Coolmath.com
-
- A lively collection of math games and puzzles, definitions of math terms, and examples of formulas from preschool through adult. Includes resources for algebra and geometry, Teaching tips and other resources also available.
Grades: PreK - 12
- FunBrain.com
-
- Funbrain has more than 100 free educational games, online books, and comics. Created for kids ages preschool through grade 8, encourages the development of math, reading and literacy skills. Funbrain is published by Family Education Network, a part of Pearson
Grades: PreK - 8
- Illuminations
-
- Created by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), Illuminations is organized by Lessons and Interactives. Over 600 lesson plans and activities (virtual manipulatives, applets and games)that can be selected by grade level and either NCTM or Common Core Math standard.
Grades: PreK - 12
- In the Mix- Financial Literacy: On the Money!
-
- Produced by PBS, this website includes information for teens about financial literacy, such as budgeting, credit cards and more.
Grades: 6 - 12
- Interactivate
-
- Interactivate has collections of science and math activities, lessons, and discussions with interactive software to teach various concepts. The pull-down menus help you to focus your search. Searches can be limited by grade level, textbooks, and standards. Sponsored by Shodor, a nonprofit organization that provide materials and instruction relating to computational science.
Grades: 3 - 12
- Investopedia: Dictionary
-
- This dictionary provides explanations of financial terminology.
Grades: 9 - 12
- Math Forum @ Drexel
-
- Resource center for mathematics education from preK through college. Includes lesson plans and activities, teacher discussion groups, and interactive resources. There are links to other math websites, and articles about math education.
Grades: PreK - 12
- Math Goodies
-
- Mrs. Glosser's Math Goodies offeres interactive lessons, homework help, worksheets and forums. Over 400 pages of activities for students from grades 5 to 8, teachers and parents. Includes interactive calculators and links to tutoring services.
Grades: 5 - 8
- Math Pickle
-
- Developed by Dr. Gordon Hamilton, Math Pickle focuses on creative problem-solving. Short videos describe the games and puzzles that are organized by grade levels. Very challenging!
Grades: K - 12
- Math World
-
- An interactive mathematics encyclopedia created by Eric Weisstein. Written for high school through college level, MathWorld includes definitions, articles, formulas and games for algebra, geometry, probability and advanced mathematics topics.
Grades: 9 - 12
- National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
-
- An extensive collection of links to websites and other online educational resources for teaching and learning. Searchable by subject, education level, resource type and standard. Entries include link, description, grade level and identify standards. Most resources are free.
Grades: PreK - 12
- Purplemath Algebra Resource
-
- This is a middle school and high school math site with a sense of humor. Along with presenting helpful tips and explanations of a variety of basic algebra concepts, it includes sassy "how to suck up to your teacher" tips that are really basic notetaking and homework skills in disguise. Fun to read and learn.
Grades: 6 - 12
- Students' Classroom
-
- Sponsored by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) the Students' Classroom has mathematical learning activities to learn how to create and use graphs. Other activities include testing your knowledge, conducting surveys and an online magazine.
Grades: 4 - 8
- TheMint.org
-
- TheMint.org has resources for both students and educators. Under the Teenstab, there are tabs for earning, saving, spending, owing, giving, investing, and safeguarding. The Teachers tab includes several lesson plans. Additionally, there are also resources for parents and younger children.
Grades: 6 - 12
