Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lesson Plans and Teaching resources
Celebrate New Jersey
The mission of the New Jersey Agricultural Society is "to preserve and enhance agriculture, farming and related activities and business in NJ through educational, informational, and promotional programs." The Learning through Gardening link provides lesson plans and teaching activities about weather, agriculture and other science topics.
New Jersey Amistad Commission Interactive Curriculum
The goal of the New Jersey Amistad Commission is to fulfill the legislation of the Amistad Bill, which mandates that African American history must be incorporated into the Social Studies curriculum of all New Jersey schools. The Commission works to develop this curriculum and distribute curriculum materials to school and educators. This website includes teaching materials and resources that adhere to the current learning standards such as Common Core.
NOTE:to access the materials, a login is required.
Grades: K - 12
New Jersey Digital Highway
Your "one stop shop" for New Jersey history and culture, from the collections of NJ libraries, museums, archives and historical societies. It provides primary sources such as photographs, documents, and maps from the American Revolution, Civil War, Cold War and in social protest during the 1960's and 70's.
Grades: 6 - 12
New Jersey Historical Commission
With its mission "to enrich the lives of the public by preserving the historical record and advancing interest in and awareness of New Jersey's past" this website provides information about grants and awards, special events and links to lesson plans and other teaching resources.
Grades: K - 12
New Jersey Women's History
Facts, images, documents and sample lesson plans are included in this web site designed by the Women's Project of New Jersey in collaboration with Rutgers University Libraries and the Alice Paul Institute.
Grades: 3 - 12
Bibliographies and Research Guides
New Jersey Teaching Resources
Resources for teaching about New Jersey, selected from the Curriculum Materials Center of the Cheng Library. This list includes textbooks, teaching aids and children's literature.
Other Interesting New Jersey Resources
New Jersey Legislature Kids' Page
"How does a bill become a law?" and "What is the legislature?" are two of the questions answered here. Includes state symbols and puzzle pages.
Grades: 4 - 8
New Jersey Legislature
Find information about bills, statutes, districts, legislators and the New Jersey legislature. View or listen to live proceedings.
Grades: 9 - 12
New Jersey history, government, facts and famous people taught through comics, games and other interactive activities. Created by the NJ Office of Information Technology and the NJ Department of Education for elementary students.
Grades: 1 - 6
New Jersey Division of Archives & Records Management
The Division of Archives and Records Management operates the State Archives, the official repository for the study of New Jersey history and genealogy, and the State Records Storage Center. It includes records from nearly three hundred years of New Jersey history, including documents, maps, photographs and other records, many of them in digital format.
Grades: 6 - 12