LBST2010: Liberal Studies Colloquium (Slavery and Freedom from the American Revolution through the Early Republic): Library Catalogs

To find primary sources in library catalogs, the following search terms - coupled with your subject terms - are among the most useful:

• Anecdotes
• Archives
• Biography
• caricatures and cartoons
• case studies
• Catalogs
• comic books, strips
• correspondence
• description and travel
• diaries
• documentary films
• exhibitions
• interviews
• manuscripts
• maps
• notebooks, sketchbooks
• personal narratives
• photography
• pictorial works
• portraits
• public opinion
• songs and music
• sources
• speeches
• statistics
• statues

• Abolitionists
• African Americans
• Antislavery movements
• Constitutional history
• Economic aspects
• Emancipation
• Extension to the territories
• Fugitive slaves
• Government policy
• Justification
• Law and legislation
• Legal status of slaves in free states
• Legal status, laws, etc.
• Plantation life
• Political and social views
• Political aspects
• Politics and government
• Race identity
• Race relations
• Slave trade
• Slavery
• Slavery and the church
• Slavery in literature
• Slaves
• Social aspects
• Social conditions
• Women slaves

Cheng Library Catalog

Contents of the Cheng Library's collection.

JerseyCat

Search other library catalogs in New Jersey.

WorldCat

WorldCat is the world's largest and most comprehensive union catalog, with bibliographic records that represent more than 2.3 billion individual items held by participating institutions. WorldCat includes records for books, videos, serial publications, articles, recorded books and music, electronic books, sheet music, genealogical references, cultural artifacts, digital objects, Web sites and much more. The cataloged works span thousands of years and nearly every form of human expression, with materials in over 470 languages from 112 countries and territories.

Some Other Sources of Books

Google Books (Advanced Book Search Screen)

Access to thousands of twentieth century titles in the public domain (i.e., with copyright dates of 1922 or earlier).

Hathi Trust Digital Library

HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than sixty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. A substantial part of the collections accessible through the digital library are in the public domain and accessible, but not all of it, so be aware of this if you search it.

Internet Archive: E-Books and Texts

The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 8,000,000 fully accessible public domain eBooks. This includes a special modern collection of over 500,000 eBooks for users with print disabilities, and a very interesting curated, modern collection for the world at large.