Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
article isn’t available in full-text!
If you’re using a database like Sociological Abstracts,
you will only get a short summary of each article (the Abstract); not the full-text.
Click the “Check Here For
Full-Text” link on the page to find out whether one of our other databases
has it, or if we have another format for this information (print, microfilm,
Found a Citation?
When reviewing articles and books, you might come across a citation for another article that you'd like to use.
To find out if the Library has the article, use the Journals A-Z List tab on the Library homepage, and search for the journal name (not the name of the article).
This will tell you if we have the full-text of this article in another database OR in paper or microform (WPUNJ Print, WPUNJ Film, WPUNJ Fiche).
Check your citation to find out the year that the article was published and compare it to the available options.
This short tutorial will walk you through the above steps:
Tips for Effective Search Strategies
- Searching works best when you have a research question in mind. You should be able to identify key concepts related to your research. These concepts form the basis for your search terms.
- Know your topic. Exploring general sources (a chapter in your textbook, an encyclopedia article or other background reading) is a good way to start. The better you undestand a topic, the easier it is to evaluate sources.
- What is your purpose? You may be writing an argumentative or persuasive paper. Or, your assignment may require you to analyze research on a topic. Perhaps you are developing a slide presentation based on your evaluation of key sources.
- Start early. Until you have done some searching and reading, you might not recognize if your topic is too broad or narrow.
- Don't wait until the last minute. Good resources may not be available locally. Allow yourself time for an Interlibrary Loan.
- Select resources appropriate for your topic. Your professor may ask that you use only peer-reviewed journals. Other professors may want you to use a combination of texts and articles, or news sources. Perhaps you will be doing primary research using interviews or observations.
Try the Thesaurus
Need More Specific Results?
Sometimes keywords that worked well in one database won’t be
as effective in another. If you find
that your results are a bit scattered, try using that database’s
terminology: the Thesaurus or Subject Terms
link. Many databases have a list of
designated words that are used to summarize a topic, but they may not be
obvious to you.
Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms
The asterisk (*) is usually used, to search words with the
Sociolog* = Sociology, Sociological, Sociologist(s), etc.
(usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:
Wom?n = Woman, Women
Trace Your Sources
When you find an interesting article, make sure you get the citation information! Write down this information so that you (and your professor) can find the article, again.
Many databases offer the option to email a link to yourself, you can use a tool like RefWorks to keep track of your citations, or you can even save the full article in many cases.
Either of these options will make life a lot easier when it comes time to write your final paper.
RefWorks (NEW RefWorks)
Web-based bibliographic management software; create a personal account to search and store citations from catalogs and databases. The references can be imported into your research papers and formatted to any style. Students and faculty who have been using the legacy version of RefWorks can still access it through the Legacy RefWorks link
. Students and faculty interested in migrating their RefWorks data from the legacy platform to the new platform are invited to contact Richard Kearney
, Electronic Resources Librarian, for assistance.