MUSI2740: Jazz History & Analysis II: Dissertations

Finding Dissertations at the Cheng Library

Looking at dissertations is a great way to find relevant information on sometimes little explored topics.  Not only will they provide extensive bibiolgraphies (links to related sources), but you will also find examples of original research and a roadmap for organizing your own writing.

There are a number of options for location dissertations and theses through our library and others.  

The best starting point for any dissertation searches is through our ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database.  

This full-text database includes nearly 3 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day, together with over 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

• Search for your topic, as you would with any other database,
• Because ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is multidisciplinary, it's a good idea to include a music-specific keyword (eg, music, jazz, trombone, etc.),
• Be sure to select 'Doctoral dissertations' for your Manuscript type,

• Review the abstracts to find appropriate sources,
• Look to see if Full text - PDF is availble, and download!

• If the dissertation you need isn't available in full-text, try one of the other options, below...

Other Options:

If you are unable to find a relevant dissertation in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, or it's not available in full-text, other options may be available to you...

1. Other Library databases may contain abstracts of relevant dissertations, although the full-text will need to be requested from another source:
   • RILM
   • WorldCat
2. If you find a dissertation that you like, but is not available in full-text, use Google and Google Scholar to see if it's freely available online (if you're having trouble, email me the citation and I'll try to help).
3. If none of these options are successful, submit an Interlibrary Loan request (you'll be notified when it arrives).

NOTE:  When placing requests through Interlibrary Loan, the Library will actually purchase a copy of the dissertation ($35 each), so please be sure that it is something you will use before submitting a request.  Multiple requests may be delayed or rejected due to cost.