It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COMM1100: Communication in Action: Articles & Online Reference Sources
We have overview databases that can give you a brief look at important topics, ideas, or people, so that you have a better understanding when digging deeper. Start here for new research assignments or for unfamiliar concepts.
The Credo Reference database is a great place to begin exploring new or unfamiliar topics. It offers full-text access to nearly 800 reference titles (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.); each giving concise information on topics from many subjects. Credo is a most useful starting point for general research on almost any topic.
Full-text database designed to provide multiple sides of a variety of current issues. Important issues will often have an overview, as well as a point (one side of the argument) and counterpoint (another side) to help you understand it better.
Locating News Articles
Many of our databases cover topics that have been around for a long time, but it can sometimes be difficult to find information on events happening right now. Our News Databases are great places to begin, as well as some of our General Knowledge Databases.
ProQuest Newsstream offers full-text news domestic and foreign newspapers, wire services, magazines, trade publications, and blogs, including over 50 of the highest-circulation newspapers in the United States (ie, the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times)!
You can access databases from the Library homepage by clicking on Databases. Since there are more than 130, we have made it easier and selected a few useful ones for this class.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States provides data on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States on such topics as population, education, elections, economy, health and nutrition, science and technology, transportation, housing, and much more. The data in the Statistical Abstract is drawn from the Census Bureau, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, and other agencies and private organizations.
Search Tip: Keywords
It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results.