LibGuides: PCOM6000 Survey in Professional Writing: Locating Articles

Locating Articles- Selected Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text index to articles from over 200 periodical titles in the field of communications and mass media studies, with citations and abstracts for articles from over 100 additional periodicals.
ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to newspapers and other news media from the United States, Canada, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East. Important titles include the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal, The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications, plus many other major news publications.
New York Times: Current File Search (1980 - present) is now part of ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text access to articles from the New York Times. [June 1, 1980 - present]
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). [1984 - present]
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) is a major source of news, legal, and business information, containing over 15,000 full-text publications. The database provides current local, regional, national and international newspapers, broadcast media transcripts, newswires, and blogs.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text database designed to provide multiple sides of a variety of current issues. The database currently offers materials on 200 topics, and each topic section features an overview along with point and counterpoint essays drawn from a variety of sources, plus supplementary information including primary source documents and guides to critical thinking.
Congressional Quarterly Library (CQ Researcher and CQ Magazine) This link opens in a new window
Two publications providing detailed coverage of Congress and legislative issues. The CQ Magazine offers timely coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. The CQ Researcher focuses on in-depth analysis about current and controversial issues; each edition concentrates on a single theme.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 4,800 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. Funded by the the New Jersey State Library.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. The publications include over 6,500 scholarly journals, over 3,600 trade publications, over 2,000 magazines and newspapers, and over 800 industry reports, plus dissertations and theses, company annual reports, and videos.

General Search Tips

Database Searching Tips

· Select/switch to the advanced search option

Do a keyword search first to see what is available
Too many results? Add an additional term or two
Too few results? Think of synonyms for your term(s)
Many databases have a Thesaurus function
Refine or limit your search to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
All databases allow you to print or email your results
Use the reference list from an article to locate additional sources

Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:

By phone

Call 973-720-2116

The Reference Desk is staffed until 10PM Sunday-Friday and until 5:00pm on Saturday.

By e-mail

Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - refdesk@wpunj.edu Allow 24 hours for a response.

Schedule a Research Appointment

Contact the library for an appointment with a Reference Librarian: Schedule Research Help

PCOM6000 Survey in Professional Writing: Locating Articles

Locating Articles- Selected Databases

General Search Tips

Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:

Chat Reference