Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Image Repositories
Artstor Digital Library
Full-content digital collection of thousands of art images and historical images from several art repositories.
Academic Search Complete
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 8,500 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. Partially funded by the the New Jersey State Library.
The database also includes an image section. A version of this database, called Academic Search Premier, is available through the JerseyClicks portal and can be accessed by anyone with a NJ public library card. See JerseyClicks.
Image Repositories on the Web
British Library Images
A vast quantity of digital images have been made available for research purposes online and within the British Library, St Pancras. The collections are truly diverse, encompassing prints, drawings, maps, art works and photographs, as well as illuminated manuscripts, digitised bookbindings and philatelic collections.
Digital Collections (from the New York Public Library)
The New York Public Library has digitized over 700,000 items, with more to come, and these can be searched or browsed through this site. There are many image files available through the site, including photographs, art and design, posters, and book art and illustrations, along with much more.
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (Library of Congress)
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints and Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship. The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
The Europeana portal provides access to a large collection of images, including art, photography, maps, fashion, and other materials.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
Learning to Do Historical Research with Images