Skip to main content

EXSC3900 Aerobic & Anaerobic Exercise Leadership: Locating Articles

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results. 

Search Tip: Truncation

Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms

The asterisk (*) is usually used to search words with the same root:

 Person* =  Personal, Personality, Personable,  etc.

Wildcard symbols (usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:

Wom?n = Woman, Women

Search Tip: Use the References

Once you locate a few good articles on your topic, be sure to review the references to other articles that are cited. This is a great way to locate related research articles on your topic. Many databases also provide a link to these articles if they are available electronically. If you don't find a link, be sure to check the Library's Journals A-Z List to see if it's available, If not, you can always use our awesome Interlibrary Loan Service

Locating Articles

Using Library Databases to Find Articles:  Search in databases to locate journal articles on a topic relevant to Exercise & Movement Science. Below are some of the databases that are most relevant. You can also access them by clicking on Databases from the Library homepage. All are accessible from off-campus. 

SPORTDiscus This comprehensive bibliographic database covers key areas of sport studies, sports medicine, and related fields. Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation. It is ideal for researchers studying different aspects of fitness, health, and sport studies.

CINAHL The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the most comprehensive resource for locating published research in nursing and allied health. The full text version includes content from over 600 journals indexed in the database, with many article backfiles extending to 1981. 

Health Reference Center Academic Health Reference Center contains millions of scholarly articles from nursing and allied health sources, including more than 1,700 full-text sources, reference titles and video content. [1980 - present]
 
MEDLINE provides access to the research literature of medicine and the health sciences. It includes bibliographic information for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care, plus links to full-text content where this is available. [1966 - present]

Science Direct Approximately 1200 full-text journals in the sciences and social sciences, plus indexing and abstracting for over 500 other journals.
 
Google Scholar Using the link from the database page will identify results that the library has in the collection.

Take a Closer Look

Scholarly vs Popular

Creating Personal Folders in Databases

Many, if not all, of the library databases allow you to create accounts within the database to store your articles and searches for future reference.

When completing a search, you will often see options such as "Mark" or "Add to Folder" . If you decide to use this feature you will need to create an account in the database. The good news is that once you create an account in an EBSCO database such as PsycInfo, you can add items from any of their databases using the same username and password. The same holds true for the ProQuest databases.

Saving your citations/articles within the database also allows you to export them into RefWorks all at the same time.