Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Web-Based Resources for Art and Politics
Digital Collections (from the Library of Congress)
The Library of Congress currently offers over 280 substantial collections of digitized materials containing thousands of photographs, prints, drawings, and other images, plus much more. The collections can be browsed and searched through the site.
Digital Collections (from the New York Public Library)
The New York Public Library has digitized over 700,000 items, with more to come, and these can be searched or browsed through this site. There are many image files available through the site, including photographs, art and design, posters, and book art and illustrations, along with much more.
National Gallery of Art (NGA Images)
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 45,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collections
The Metropolitan Museum of Art has digitized over 200,000 items from its vast collections, and these can be searched or browsed through this site. The majority of these are in the public domain and are freely available for downloading and use for course assignments or other purposes.
Europeana, a project of the European Commission, is a portal to digitized content from a large number of cultural institutions throughout Europe. The art section of Europeana currently features over 1.3 million paintings, drawings, prints and other artworks from across Europe.
Smithsonian Libraries' Digital Library: Art and Design
The Smithsonian Institution's library system maintains a substantial digitization project, including several collections that feature art and design images, presented in a variety of different media.