Skip to main content

LBST2010: Liberal Studies Colloquium: Locating Articles

This guide will help you with your research projects for your Liberal Studies colloquium.

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results. 

Search Tip: Truncation

Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms

The asterisk (*) is usually used to search words with the same root:

 Person* =  Personal, Personality, Personable,  etc.

Wildcard symbols (usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:

Wom?n = Woman, Women

Locating Articles

Using Library Databases to Find Articles: To locate articles using Library databases, you can click on the Databases tab from the Library homepage. Listed below are some of the most relevant databases for your research . All are accessible from off campus. 

Locating Statistical Information

Statista The Statista database is a portal to statistical information, pulling together data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single platform.

Infographic: Netflix Challenges TV Heavyweights at the Emmys | Statista
You will find more statistics at Statista

Search Tip: Thesaurus or Subject

Sometimes keywords that worked well in one database won’t be as effective in another.  If you find that your results are a bit scattered, try using that database’s terminology:  the Thesaurus or Subject Terms link.  Many databases have a list of designated words that are used to summarize a topic, but they may not be obvious to you.

Search Tip: Use the References

Once you locate a few good articles on your topic, be sure to review the references to other articles that are cited. This is a great way to locate related research articles on your topic. Many databases also provide a link to these articles if they are available electronically. If you don't find a link, be sure to check the Library's Journals A-Z List to see if it's available, If not, you can always use our awesome Interlibrary Loan Service

Creating Personal Folders

All databases provide you with an option to create a personal folder to save articles, citations and searches in one place. You will be required to create an account within the database to use this feature.