Skip to main content

COMM3480: Public Relations: Locating Resources

This guide will help you locate resources for your public relations plan.

PR and Related Industry Publications

Search within these publications for articles on industries, companies, or target market. Looking for others? Click on Journals A-Z from the Library homepage and search for a title. 

Locating Statistical Information

Statista The Statista database is a portal to statistical information, pulling together data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single platform.

Statistical Abstract of the United States  The most authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It offers convenient access to a wide variety of data on such topics as population, education, elections, all major sectos of the economy, health and nutrition, government, science and technology, transportation, housing, and much more. 

Locating Articles

ABI Inform/Proquest ABI is a major business database. It includes articles published in business periodicals, trade publications, academic journals and the Wall Street Journal. Includes titles such as PR News, PR Newswire, Public Relations Quarterly and numerous industry trade publications. Can limit document type to Case Study. 

Business Source Premier Business Source Premier is a major business database. It includes articles from popular business magazines, trade publications and academic journals. Includes Public Relations Review, Public Relations Tactics and numerous industry trade publications. Also includes company profiles from MarketLine that include a SWOT analysis. Can limit document type to Case Study. 

Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text access for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for thousands of additional sources. Dates and coverage vary. Includes Public Relations Research Annual and various PR related publications. 

Proquest Newstream Full-text access to newspapers and other news media from the United States, Canada, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East. 

Locating Company Information

Hoover's Academic This database contains detailed proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, with additional information about 90 million companies worldwide.

 IBIS World -US Industry Reports and iExpert  Industry Summaries A specialist in industry information, IBISWorld provides research and analysis of over 700 U.S. industries and almost 4,000 product segments. he reports, updated regularly, provide detailed and comprehensive industry overviews, performance evaluations, an analysis of products and markets, the competitive landscape, an examination of major companies in each industry, operating conditions, and key statistics.

Finding Books & Media

To find books and media that our library owns, use the Books & Media tab on our homepage, or search for everything with the Search All option.

Start with one or two keywords, adding quotation marks ("") around concepts with more than one word: for example, "middle school" or "autism spectrum disorder"... quotes are not needed for single words, such as education or science.

Narrow your results using the limits on the right side of the results page.  You may see a lot of non-book items, so be sure to limit the Resource Type category to Books, if that's what you're looking for.

When you've found a book (or ebook!) that looks interesting, click the title to learn more about it, or (if it's Available), write down the location and call number and head to the shelves to get it!

If you see 'Available Online', the book or media is available online!

Case Studies

Why use case studies? 

Case studies are detailed investigations of individuals or groups. Case studies can be qualitative or quantitative in nature and often combine elements of both. In Public Relations, case studies:

  • Identify the challenge a particular customer faces
  • Describe the solution provided by the company
  • Illustrate the measurable results gained from using the service

In class assignment