Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Experiencing Guided Inquiry
Using picture book biographies, we'll use Guided Inquiry to explore many types of resources (print & online). A mini-project will be developed using the principles of National History Day exhibits.
American Memory from the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress provides access to its collections of documents, audio and video recordings, photos and other primary source materials. The Teachers section includes lesson plans and other classroom materials.
National History Day
In addition to announcements of winner, this website provides sample History Day projects and resources for teachers.
New Jersey History Day
New Jersey History Day, an affiliate of National History Day, holds three regional competitions and a state contest. It also provides workshops and other training for History Day participants.
Free tool for creating online flyers, newsletters and other online publication. You need to register to use. A more powerful and versatile product is available for a fee.
Points of View Reference Center
Full-text database designed to provide multiple sides of a variety of current issues. The database currently offers materials on 200 topics, and each topic section features an overview along with point and counterpoint essays drawn from a variety of sources, plus supplementary information including primary source documents and guides to critical thinking.
Middle Search Plus
Full-text database with content from over 140 middle school magazines. Includes reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays, as well as primary source documents in American history, material from popular middle school reference resources, and an image collection of over 290,000 photos, maps and flags. Cost: Free through NJ State Library
Three Steps for an Inquiry Classroom (Wilhelm, 2007, p. 38-39)
1. Identify an essential question and associated enduring understandings.
2. Identify a final project.
3. Create a "backwards plan".
Six Principles of Guided Inquiry (Kuhlthau, 2007, p. 25)
Children learn by being actively engaged in and reflecting on an experience.
Children learn by building on what they already know.
Children develop higher-order thinking through guidance at critical points in the learning process.
Children have different ways and modes of learning.
Children learn through social interaction with others.
Children learn through instruction and experience in accord with their cognitive development.
Resources about Guided Inquiry