It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SOC5210: Contemporary Issues in the Workplace: Finding Articles
When conducting your literature review, you should try to find as much information about previous research on your topic, as possible.
One of the best places to look for articles is on the Library’s Articles & Databases tab. Databases range from general to subject-specific, can be used from off campus, and manyoffer full-text access to articles.
If your topic covers more than one subject (Social Sciences and Education, etc.) you'll want to search more than one database to get the full picture.
General Sociology Databases
Search All isn't always the best place to go when doing research. In fact, some our our databases actually offer more control over you searching!
The following databases are good starting points for your Sociology/Criminal Justice research. The contents of each are different (with some overlap) so it's always a good idea to check in multiple databases to ensure that you find all relevant information.
If you topic touches on another subject, such as education, health, or gender studies, be sure to look in those databases as well (see below).
If your topic touches on issues of educational equality, or relates to
issues present in schools and higher education, you might want to also explore these databases:
Covers over 820 titles in education, including over 630 scholarly journals, going back to 1971 for several titles. Full-text access is available for over 650 titles. ProQuest Education Journals covers literature on primary, secondary, and higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
For those of you dealing with issues of healthcare and mental illness, the following databases will be useful:
CINAHL is the most comprehensive resource for locating published research in nursing and allied health. The full text version includes content from over 600 journals indexed in the database, with many article backfiles extending to 1981.
A collection of scholarly articles from a variety of psychology-related journals. A smaller database than PsycINFO, but contains more full-text. Search both databases to get the most comprehensive coverage.
A collection of scholarly and non-scholarly articles from psychology-related journals dating back to 1887! Much larger than PsycARTICLES, it provides wider coverage of the subject. Not all content is scholarly, though, and you will need to limit your results.
In addition to searching the general sociology databases (above), check out these resources when dealing with issues of gender inequality:
GenderWatch is a full-text database useful for gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research. The database offers over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses, with coverage back to 1970. Researchers and teachers may access more than 219,000 full articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace. [1970 - Present]
Scholarly v. Popular
When conducting research, you will usually be asked to find Scholarly Articles, or artices from a Scholarly Journal, rather than popular sources (like magazines and newspapers).
Not sure what the difference is between scholarly and popular? Check out this short tutorial: Scholarly v. Popular
Is It Scholarly?
How can you tell if you've found a scholarly article?
Some of our databases allow you to limit your results to Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed (possibly Refereed) articles. In some cases, this isn’t so clear. You can either check with your professor or a librarian, or you can search for the journal name in Ulrichsweb (under Articles & Databases, on the Library homepage).
Once you’ve found the name of the journal you’re looking for, look for a small referee’s shirt icon (), to the left of the title. This indicates that there is scholarly (peer-reviewed, refereed…) value to the articles in this title.