Skip to main content

ENG2000-70: Methods of Literary Analysis: Finding Articles Using Library Databases

This guide offers suggestions for resources relevant to your Research/Reflection paper.

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results. 

Search Tip: Thesaurus or Subject

Sometimes keywords that worked well in one database won’t be as effective in another.  If you find that your results are a bit scattered, try using that database’s terminology:  the Thesaurus or Subject Terms link.  Many databases have a list of designated words that are used to summarize a topic, but they may not be obvious to you.

Locating Literary Criticism

JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections  Archive of over 1,900 major journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, education, area studies, mathematics and statistics, and much more

Literary Reference Center Full-text literary reference database contains over 27,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews

Literature Resource Center Full-text database covering over 135,000 authors, with detailed biographical, bibliographical and contextual information about authors' lives and works

MLA International Bibliography The MLA International Bibliography is a bibliographic database to journal articles, books, and dissertations relating to all forms of human communication.

Locating Articles

You can access databases from the Databases link on the Library homepage. These are two of the largest, interdisciplinary databases that work great for most research projects. 

Academic Search Complete includes more than 8500 periodicals (newspapers, magazines and journals) in all subject areas. Most articles are available full-text online.

ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more.

 

 

 

Locating Background Information

Credo Reference

The Credo Reference database is a portal to over 780 full-text reference titles from over 80 major publishers. Easy to search and browse, the Credo platform provides access to text, images, maps, statistics, and graphic concept maps to illustrate connections among and between topics.

 

Search Tip: Use the References

Once you locate a few good articles on your topic, be sure to review the references to other articles that are cited. This is a great way to locate related research articles on your topic. Many databases also provide a link to these articles if they are available electronically. If you don't find a link, be sure to check the Library's Journals A-Z List to see if it's available, If not, you can always use our awesome Interlibrary Loan Service.