If you have used RefWorks in the past, please be advised that it is in the process of upgrading to a new format. Please use the New RefWorks option, if prompted, to ensure that you are seeing the most current version.
Even though it's listed under the Find Articles in Databases link from the Library homepage, RefWorks isn't that kind of database. It's more of a database that you create.
RefWorks is a citation manager that can help you organize and keep track of the sources you are using for your research.
As you do your research within the Library website, you'll be able to import citations from our online catalog and most of our databases, and can even pull in book records using its built-in catalog search. And, as an added bonus, RefWorks can convert your citations into a properly formatted bibliography!
Just keep in mind that RefWorks saves only your citations. It does not automatically save the full-text of an article (it is possible to do so after the fact). Therefore, it's always a good idea to keep electronic copies in your own files, when possible.
You can access RefWorks from the list of of Library databases under the Databases tab on the homepage.
When you first use RefWorks, you must create an account that will be used to store all of your citations.
To sign up:
Once this has been done, you're ready to begin using RefWorks. This is only necessary the first time, and you will be able to use your RefWorks login name and password, the next time you visit.
*** If you're off campus when you attempt to create your account, you may need to include the WPUNJ group code (contact me or the Reference Desk for assistance)
RefWorks relies on browser pop-up windows to move information between our databases and your RefWorks account. Therefore, if you are using a browser with the pop-up blocker enabled, you should disable it before getting started.
Otherwise, you may have difficulty getting the results you want.
This setting will always be reset on public computers, so remember to change it whenever using RefWorks.
I would highly recommend starting your RefWorks experience by creating at least one folder in which to store your citations. As far as I know, there are no limits to how many folders you can create, so make as many as you need to best organize your research (by class, by topic, by project, etc.).
In addition, whenever you import citations to RefWorks, they initially end up in your Last Imported folder. This is a temporary holding place for the most recent imports, and it's easy to lose track of unfiled items if you don't file them right away.
To create a new folder (or subfolder):
Bringing citations from one of our many databases to RefWorks is relatively easy, although the process may be slightly different in each.
Generally, when you've found an article that you wish to include in your research, you'll want to look for a button or link that says Export, Export to RefWorks, or some variation on these words.
Some databases, like any of our many EBSCOHost databases even let you set aside multiple articles at once, so that you can export a batch or citations at the same time. Simply add items to a folder and Export them in bulk.
Like our databases, our Online Catalog offers you the ability to directy import book citations into RefWorks.
After finding a book or media item of interest, look for the Export Record option above the title (be sure to click the title in your results list, so that you're looking at the full record). You'll see two options: Export to RefWorks and Export to EndNote.
Select Export to RefWorks and follow the steps outlined for How to Import Citations From Databases (above).
The Library offers a number of both basic and advanced RefWorks workshops throughout the semester. If you think you'd like to learn more about it, or are having difficulty, check the Library Workshops page for dates and times. Or, you can always set up a one-on-one Research Consultation.
RefWorks also has a great YouTube channel, full of helpful videos for getting answers to your RefWorks questions:
There may be instances where the item you're trying to add to RefWorks is not able to be imported directly from another source. In these cases, you will need to manaully.
If you're not sure of what to do, contact the library for assistance.
When you're ready to create your list of References:
Watch for the message to clear Pop-up blockers. You may need to start over if you haven't already clear the Pop-up blockers.
Refworks offers plugins for Microsoft Word and Google Docs, to connect your saved references to the document you are writing!