It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EXSC6230: Research on Curriculum and Supervision in Physical Education: Finding Articles
When conducting academic research, you should try to find as much information about previous research on your topic, as possible.
One of the best places to look for articles is on the Library’s Databases tab. Databases range from general to subject-specific, can be used from off campus, and manyoffer full-text access to articles.
If your topic covers more than one subject (Social Sciences and Education, etc.) you'll want to search more than one database to get the full picture.
Visit our main Databases page, for a full list of resources available to you!
Search All isn't always the best place to go when doing research. In fact, some our our databases actually offer more control over you searching!
The following databases are good starting points for your Kinesiology research. The contents of each are different (with some overlap) so it's always a good idea to check in multiple databases to ensure that you find all relevant information.
If you topic touches on another subject, such as education, health, or gender studies, be sure to look in those databases as well (see below).
BMJ Best PracticeThe BMJ Best Practice database is designed to assist health professionals make accurate and effective diagnosis and treatment decisions. Containing regularly updated research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion, the database covers prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis for a wide variety of conditions. Contents include condition, assessment, and overview monographs; a drugs database containing information on dosing, availability, formulations, side effects and contraindications; and a collection of patient education leaflets providing summary information on conditions and their causes, treatment options, and other useful information, supporting shared decision-making between patients and healthcare professionals.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full TextThe Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the most comprehensive resource for locating published research in nursing and allied health. The full text version includes content from over 600 journals indexed in the database, with many article backfiles extending to 1981. Frequently updated, CINAHL also provides searchers with current awareness of the newest journal articles through a rotating file of "Pre-CINAHL" records containing citation information and links to full-text (where available). [1981 - present]
Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases containing different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Library contains full-text systematic reviews in health care, details of published articles on controlled trails (including the methods used), abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed, details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments, and economic evaluations of competing healthcare interventions from around the world.
Communication & Mass Media CompleteFull-text index to articles from over 200 periodical titles in the field of communications and mass media studies, with citations and abstracts for articles from over 100 additional periodicals.
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals ServiceAccess to full-text content from approximately 270 subscription journals, plus citations and abstracts for over 7,000 additional journals. Covers a wide variety of subjects.
ERIC (via EBSCOhost)The ERIC database, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. Included in the database are citation records, abstracts, and (where available) full-text links for journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. [1966 - present]
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine (formerly Health Reference Center Academic)Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine contains up-to-date information on a wide variety of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides current, scholarly, comprehensive information on health-related topics.
For access to our subscription journals through Google Scholar, select the link above and then follow these steps:
1. Click on the top-left corner menu on the screen
2. Select "Settings" from the menu
3. On the next page, select "Library links" from the menu on the left side of the screen
4. Type "wpunj" in the search field and run the search
5. Select "William Paterson University - Cheng Library - Full Text @ Cheng Library" and then click on the "Save" button
This will enable you to see the "Full Text @ Cheng Library" links displayed with your search results.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)The Health and Psychosocial Instruments database provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes and manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes and scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. [1985 - present]
Health and Wellness Resource Center (Infotrac)Health & Wellness Resource Center provides access to medical, statistical, health, and related information from reference sources, full-text articles and other resources. [1997 - present]
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections (I through IX, and XIV)Archive of over 2,-00 major journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, education, area studies, mathematics and statistics, and much more. Funding for the acquisition of the JSTOR Arts and Sciences V, VI, VIII, and IX Collections was provided by a generous gift from the Student Government Association. [18th Century - Present]
ProQuest Ebook CentralFull-text access to over 150,000 electronic books from a wide variety of academic publishers, covering every subject.
ProQuest Education DatabaseThe ProQuest Education Database includes over 1,130 full-text periodicals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education. Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
ProQuest Social Science DatabaseProQuest Social Science Database, a subset of the ProQuest Central database, offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Contains full-text content for over 1,200 titles.
PsycARTICLESPsycARTICLES offers complete access to the full text of more than 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience. The database currently contains over 160,000 articles from many of the most important journals in psychology, including 34 journals published by the American Psychological Association. Most titles feature complete content from the current issue back to volume 1, issue 1, with complete coverage of all subject areas relevant to psychological science including basic/experimental psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, education and school psychology, health psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, social psychology and social processes. Articles in PsycARTICLES are also accessible through links in the (larger) PsycINFO database. [1894 - present]
PsycINFOPsycINFO is the principal abstracting and indexing database covering peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database currently contains over 3.3 million records for articles from over 2,500 journals, books, and dissertations. Although the major focus of the database is psychology, it also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. The records in PsycINFO are organized by a rigorous and detailed system of subject classification to support high-precision searching, and links to full-text content are provided where available. [1887 - present]
ScienceDirectAccess to over 2,400 full-text journals in the sciences and social sciences.
ScopusScopus is a comprehensive database providing access to the research literature of the natural and physical sciences and the social sciences. The database currently provides over 50 million citation records and indexes over 20,000 peer-reviewed journals, over 390 trade publications, and over 370 book series. Also included are citations for over 5.5 million conference papers from proceedings and journals, over 25 million patent records from five patent offices, and articles in press from over 3,800 journals. [1823 - Present]
Sports Medicine and Education IndexThis database provides specialized, editorially curated resources critical to researchers with an academic, professional or personal interest in the field of physical education. Through scholarly and trade literature, the database covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology. [ 1970 - Present ]
SpringerLink E-Journals CollectionOver 1,900 full-text scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines including behavioral sciences, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences and law, mathematics, medicine, physics and astronomy.
Scholarly v. Popular
When conducting research, you will usually be asked to find Scholarly Articles, or artices from a Scholarly Journal, rather than popular sources (like magazines and newspapers).
Not sure what the difference is between scholarly and popular? Check out this short tutorial: Scholarly v. Popular
Is It Scholarly?
How can you tell if you've found a scholarly article?
Some of our databases allow you to limit your results to Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed (possibly Refereed) articles. In some cases, this isn’t so clear. You can either check with your professor or a librarian, or you can search for the journal name in Ulrichsweb (under Articles & Databases, on the Library homepage).
Once you’ve found the name of the journal you’re looking for, look for a small referee’s shirt icon (), to the left of the title. This indicates that there is scholarly (peer-reviewed, refereed…) value to the articles in this title.