My article isn’t available in full-text!
If you’re using a database like Sociological Abstracts, you will only get a short summary of each article (the Abstract); not the full-text. Click the “Check Here For Full-Text” link on the page to find out whether one of our other databases has it, or if we have another format for this information (print, microfilm, microfiche, etc.).
When reviewing articles and books, you might come across a citation for another article that you'd like to use.
To find out if the Library has the article, use the Journals A-Z List tab on the Library homepage, and search for the journal name (not the name of the article).
This will tell you if we have the full-text of this article in another database OR in paper or microform (WPUNJ Print, WPUNJ Film, WPUNJ Fiche).
Check your citation to find out the year that the article was published and compare it to the available options.
This short tutorial will walk you through the above steps:
Need More Specific Results?
Sometimes keywords that worked well in one database won’t be as effective in another. If you find that your results are a bit scattered, try using that database’s terminology: the Thesaurus or Subject Terms link. Many databases have a list of designated words that are used to summarize a topic, but they may not be obvious to you.
Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms
The asterisk (*) is usually used, to search words with the same root:
Sociolog* = Sociology, Sociological, Sociologist(s), etc.
Wildcard symbols (usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:
Wom?n = Woman, Women
When you find an interesting article, make sure you get the citation information! Write down this information so that you (and your professor) can find the article, again.
Many databases offer the option to email a link to yourself, you can use a tool like RefWorks to keep track of your citations, or you can even save the full article in many cases.
Either of these options will make life a lot easier when it comes time to write your final paper.