When conducting academic research, you should try to find as much information about previous research on your topic, as possible.
One of the best places to look for articles is on the Library’s Databases tab. Databases range from general to subject-specific, can be used from off campus, and many offer full-text access to articles.
If your topic covers more than one subject (Social Sciences and Education, etc.) you'll want to search more than one database to get the full picture.
Visit our main Databases page, for a full list of resources available to you!
When looking for books or media, you'll want to start with the Search All option, our all-in-one-search tool. Search All combines our Books & Media search with most of our Databases, allowing you to find articles, books, and other resources, all in one search!
Enter simple terms or concepts, rather than long phrases and questions. For example, use terms like “gender” or “free trade” rather than “gender discrimination at work/glass ceiling”. In this case, less is better… Too many terms make it harder to find resources!
Combine more than one term or concept to narrow your results, and use the different limits on the results page to narrow even more.
And, if you're off campus, be sure to Log In to make sure you can easily access the materials you find!
To find books and media that our library owns, use the Books & Media tab on our homepage, or search for everything with the Search All option.
Start with one or two keywords, adding quotation marks ("") around concepts with more than one word: for example, "African American" or "music theory"... quotes are not needed for single words, such as crime or intonation.
Narrow your results using the limits on the right side of the results page.
When you've found a book that looks interesting, click the title to learn more about it, or (if it's Available), write down the location and call number and head to the shelves to get it!
If you see an option to , the book/media is available online!
While searching the catalog, you'll find a number of books and videos with a location of Internet Resource, and a link in place of the call number.
Simply follow the link ('Click here for full text', 'View Streaming Video', etc.) to access the online version of these books and videos.
You will need to log in to view these items from off campus (and on campus, for videos). If you are having trouble, contact the reference desk for assistance (973-720-2116; firstname.lastname@example.org).