Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistical resources can be found in a number of places and exist as both raw data and within published reports.
The information from one statistical source may not be exactly what you need, and may require comparison against other literature and/or statistical information.
General Statistical Portals
Local Statistical Resources
New Jersey State Police: Crime Reports
The NJSP website offers a number of reports on the crime in New Jersey, including: Uniform Crime Reports, Carjacking Offense Reports, Fatal Accident Statistics, Domestic Violence Reports, Bias Incident Reports, NJSP Gang Survey, and Crime Index Trends. Many of these reports are available for previous years, online.
New Jersey by the Numbers
Compiled by NJ.com, provides statistics for a number of New Jersey related topics, including Crime & Inmates.
National Statistical Resources
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics collects and distributes data and information on crime (offenders, victims, justice systems, etc.) within the United States. A number of reports and survey data sets are available through their website.
National Institute of Corrections
The NIC offers a variety of publications and resources through their website's Library tab. Under the "Popular Topics" link, the State Corrections Statistics
section offers a snapshot of a number of corrections-based statistics (crime, incarceration, probation, parolees, cost) from the most recent data.
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
The FBI provides a range of crime-related reports and services under their Stats & Services tab. These include a number of Uniform Crime Reports (Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted) as well as a variety of more specialized reports (Campus Attacks, Internet Crime Reports, Terrorism, etc.).
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Administered by the Office of Justice Programs of the U.S. Department of Justice, the NCJRS website contains sections on a variety of criminal justice topics, each containing additional sub-topics of interest. Useful publications are made available for all topics.
U.S. Department of Justice
A large number of publicly available reports and publications are available under Resources. A search of the site will also link out to other DoJ departments.
Center for Sex Offender Management
Organized by the Office of Justice Programs, the National Institute of Corrections, and the State Justice Institute, CSOM offers a number of reports on the topic of sex offender management, and provides resources for practitioners.
Crimes Against Children Research Center
Provided research and statistics on topics concerning crimes against children, including abduction, rape, abuse, bullying, etc.
TRAC: Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse
"The purpose of TRAC is to provide the American people — and institutions of oversight such as Congress, news organizations, public interest groups, businesses, scholars and lawyers — with comprehensive information about staffing, spending, and enforcement activities of the federal government." Information overs the IRS, DEA, FBI, etc. as well as immigration. Each area provides data, reports and other resources on the department/topic.
National Institute of Justice
"NIJ provides objective and independent knowledge and tools to reduce crime and promote justice, particularly at the state and local levels."
United States Census
Provides mostly demographic information about the United States.
A collection of links to statistics and statistical agencies in the United States.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
"The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 200 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States."