Skip to main content

COMM1210: Communication Theory: Locating Articles

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results. 

Search Tip: Truncation

Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms

The asterisk (*) is usually used to search words with the same root:

 Person* =  Personal, Personality, Personable,  etc.

Wildcard symbols (usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:

Wom?n = Woman, Women

Locating Articles

Using Library Databases to Find Articles: To locate articles using Library databases, you can click on Databases from the Library homepage and browse by subject or you can select the first letter of the database name. Since we have more than 135 databases, listed below are some of the databases you may find useful to locate communication and media related articles. 

Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text access for over 500 titles and contains citation coverage for thousands of additional sources. Dates and coverage vary.
 
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. 
 
Business Source Premier Business Source Premier is a major business database. It includes articles from popular business magazines, trade publications and academic journals. 
 
Academic Search Complete includes more than 8500 periodicals (newspapers, magazines and journals) in all subject areas. Most articles are available full-text online.
 
PsycInfo contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.    
 
Proquest Education Journals Indexes over 800 education related periodical titles. Full text access is available for 650 titles.
 

Google Scholar Using the link from the database page will identify results that the library has in the collection.

General Search Tips

Database Searching Tips

·     Select/switch to the advanced search option

  • Do a keyword search first to see what is available
  • Too many results? Add an additional term or two
  • Too few results? Think of synonyms for your term(s)
  • Many databases have a Thesaurus function
  • Refine or limit your search to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • All databases allow you to print or email your results
  • Use the reference list from an article to locate additional sources

Take a Closer Look

Scholarly vs Popular

Search Everything: Find Books & Media, Articles, and More!