Skip to main content

ENG1500: Experiences in Literature - Soto: Finding Articles Using Library Databases

Experiences in Literature - The Vietnam War

Locating Articles

Using Library Databases to Find Articles
To locate articles using Library databases, you can click on the tab "Articles & Databases" from the Library homepage. Click on the word GO to view the list of more than 130 databases.

Literature Resource Center is a large full-text database covering over 135,000 authors, with detailed biographical, bibliographical and contextual information about authors' lives and works. Also includes over 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays and reviews from over
390 scholarly journals and literary magazines.

ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more.

Academic Search Complete includes more than 8500 periodicals (newspapers, magazines and journals) in all subject areas. Most articles are available full-text online.

Literary Reference Center is a full-text literary reference database that contains nearly 100,000 articles and essays of literary criticism; more than 140,000 author biographies; over 569,000 book reviews and 4,700 author interviews.

Jstor is a large full-text database of more than 1,900 major journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, education, area studies, mathematics and statistics, and much more.

To locate news articles, try Lexis/Nexis or ProQuest Newsstand

Lexis/Nexis Academic is a full-text database that provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options.

ProQuest Newsstand offers full-text news from over 1,280 sources, including domestic and foreign newspapers, wire services, magazines, trade publications, and blogs. Over 50 of the highest-circulation newspapers in the United States are included in the database, including such key titles as the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.

Scholarly vs. Popular

Do you know the difference between what is considered to be a Schorlarly publication and what is a Popular publication? View the Library's Tutorial to find out! Scholarly vs. Popular See full size image