Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NUR6170: Legal Issues for School Nurses: Citing Sources/RefWorks

This guide provides links to federal and state legal resources relevant to this course.

APA Style

Bluebook Style

Most legal citations follow the The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation. Cornell University's Legal Information Institute provides many citation examples that you may wish to review to distinguish among citations to cases, codes and regulations. A copy of The Bluebook is also available at the reference desk at Cheng Library.

Purdue OWL

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab has extensive information on how to properly cite sources following APA Style. Cheng Library also has a copy of the full APA Manual at the reference desk.  

RefWorks

http://proquest.libguides.com/newrefworks

RefWorks is a citation manager that can help you organize and keep track of the sources you are using for your research. References can be exported directly from Library databases, entered manually in RefWorks or imported from the Library's online catalog. RefWorks can convert your citations into a properly formatted bibliography

Importing Citation

Bringing citations from one of our many databases to RefWorks is relatively easy, although the process may be slightly different in each. 

Generally, when you've found an article that you wish to include in your research, you'll want to look for a button or link that says Export, Export to RefWorks, or some variation on these words.

Some databases, like any of our many EBSCOHost databases even let you set aside multiple articles at once, so that you can export a batch or citations at the same time.  Simply add items to a folder and Export them in bulk.

When you send citations to RefWorks, a new window will usually appear (it might be in the background, so you may have to look around at first) and you will be asked to log in.

A window will appear indicating how many citations you have successfully imported, and you'll be shown all of the items in your Last Imported folder.

  1. To file the articles in the appropriate folder, you can either:
    • Click and drag items into the folder list on the left side.
    • Add a checkmark to the items you wish to move, and select the folder icon across the top, to select a destination.
  2. Sources will remain in your Last Imported folder, but you may clear this list, once everything has been filed.

Organizing your Information

You can create folders in RefWorks. This means you can create different folders for different projects, or different folders for varied aspects of a particular project. The same item can exist simultaneously in more than one folder.

If you think that you've lost a reference, check the folder called, References not in a folder. This is where references go if they have been imported but not put into a folder.

Creating a Reference List

When you're ready to create your list of References:

  • Open the folder with the citations you want to use.
  • Select the quotation mark icon at the top of the page.
  • Select Create Bibliography.
  • Click the Copy to Clipboard button.
  • Paste into a Microsoft Word document.
  • Double-check that the formatting is correct.

Watch for the message to clear Pop-up blockers. You may need to start over if you haven't already clear the Pop-up blockers.